[1.7.10] Custom rendered block pushable by piston. [Abandoned]

Alphafox_13

I am very new to modding so I went on to youtube and watched a few tutorials and I now have two blocks in my mod one extends Block and the other extends BlockContainer.

The problem is that my regular block has no custom rendering I can however be pushed. as soon as i convert it to a BlockContainer (hence a tile entity the piston can no longer pushed it, now this doesnt seem right as rails and pane glass (blocks I am using as reference) can both be pushed by pistons and both are definitely custom rendered.

As i understand it the blocks can't be moved because of the attached data, so i would be in favour of removing tileentity completetly, however http://www.minecraftforum.net/forums/mapping-and-modding/minecraft-mods/mods-discussion/1410896-question-custom-rendered-block-without-tile suggest that its not possible to have custom rendering without tileentity.

Hi

Looking at the way the piston is implemented, I don't think it will be able to push blocks which have TileEntity information (it will cause the TileEntity to be destroyed/overwritten).

This might perhaps be ok if your TileEntity doesn't actually have any data stored in it - it might automatically discard & regenerate your TileEntity - but I'm not sure.

You could perhaps try it and see - just provide a simple TileEntity for your Block (don't use BlockContainer) and make sure Block.getMobilityFlag() returns 0.  No guarantees though.

I think you are right, you need a TileEntity to render using a TileEntitySpecialRenderer.  In 1.8 it's difficult to do custom block render without it (other choices are: ISmartBlockModel in some cases, or using ASM+Reflection to insert your custom rendering code into the vanilla code - which can be rather hard to get right).

What's the "custom" rendering actually do?

-TGG

In 1.7.10, it's possible to render a non-tile-entity block with ISimpleBlockRenderingHandler.