[1.16.5] Dynamic texture based on stack size?

Sinu

I have been wondering how to make an item change texture based on certain stack sizes? Someone had already posted about this many years back (https://forums.minecraftforge.net/topic/31987-18-texture-dependant-on-stack-size/) but I am wondering how I can go about doing this in 1.16.5? Also, I am pretty new at modding so a little bit of helping hand would be much appreciated!¬†ūüėÉ

In FMLClienetSetupEvent use enqueue to schedule work on the main thread. In there use ItemModelsProperties.register to register an IItemPropertyGetter for your item. This then needs to return something based on the stack size. Your model can then reference this property, similarly to how the bow pulling works (check the bow model).

Where can I find where Forge references the bow to change it's texture? Or does the bow implement it's features differently than the way you explained it? Looking at example codes help me learn the best I think.

EDIT: Oh, I think I understand what you mean. I found https://mcforge.readthedocs.io/en/latest/models/overrides/ which seems pretty close to what I want. So from what I am understanding, I am defining a new "predicate" for the item to recognize within the json file?

My next question is, where do I insert the FMLClientSetupEvent event?
I figured out where to put it! I have trouble editing this line to have it reflect with the number of stacks:
return entity != null && stack.getCount() && entity.getActiveItemStack() == stack ? 1.0F : 0.0F;

I am assuming I don't need to check if entity is null or not but only have it register the number of item stack?

Edited by Sinu

I think I got a hang of what I should be doing but I think I am doing something wrong.
My json file looks like this which I think is correct:

{
	"parent": "item/generated",
	"textures": {
		"layer0": "brimheim:items/coin_bronze"
	},
	"overrides": [
		{
			"predicate": {
				"brimheim:stack": 16
			},