NoSuchMethodError for runClient on example mod

doot

Hello, I'm just getting started with creating forge mods and am trying to get the example mod to run. I'm using forge 1.16.5-36.2.20, and have downloaded the corresponding mdk. I've changed the mapping to snapshot

mappings channel: 'snapshot', version: '20210309-1.16.5'

and have updated the example mod doClientStuff method to use gameSettings instead of options.

Building and running genIntellijRuns all works fine, but running runClient errors out. The run configuration is using the .main option for my project. I'm using the java 8 hotspot jvm.

Here's the stack trace I'm getting.

Exception in thread "main" [15:43:04] [main/INFO] [STDERR/]: [java.lang.ThreadGroup:uncaughtException:1052]: java.lang.NoSuchMethodError: sun.security.util.ManifestEntryVerifier.<init>(Ljava/util/jar/Manifest;)V
[15:43:04] [main/INFO] [STDERR/]: [java.lang.ThreadGroup:uncaughtException:1052]: 	at cpw.mods.modlauncher.SecureJarHandler.createCodeSource(SecureJarHandler.java:66)
[15:43:04] [main/INFO] [STDERR/]: [java.lang.ThreadGroup:uncaughtException:1052]: 	at cpw.mods.modlauncher.TransformingClassLoader$DelegatedClassLoader.findClass(TransformingClassLoader.java:275)
[15:43:04] [main/INFO] [STDERR/]: [java.lang.ThreadGroup:uncaughtException:1052]: 	at cpw.mods.modlauncher.TransformingClassLoader.loadClass(TransformingClassLoader.java:136)
[15:43:04] [main/INFO] [STDERR/]: [java.lang.ThreadGroup:uncaughtException:1052]: 	at cpw.mods.modlauncher.TransformingClassLoader.loadClass(TransformingClassLoader.java:98)
[15:43:04] [main/INFO] [STDERR/]: [java.lang.ThreadGroup:uncaughtException:1052]: 	at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:351)
[15:43:04] [main/INFO] [STDERR/]: [java.lang.ThreadGroup:uncaughtException:1052]: 	at java.lang.Class.forName0(Native Method)
[15:43:04] [main/INFO] [STDERR/]: [java.lang.ThreadGroup:uncaughtException:1052]: 	at java.lang.Class.forName(Class.java:348)