(Modding Noob Here) Weird imports in someone else's mod when updating to 1.6.2

Kraethi

Hey there, new to modding but not to minecraft. :P

One of my favorite mods is lagging behind in development, so I decided I'd give a shot at updating it from 1.5.2 to 1.6.2 myself. I figured out how to set up MCP and forge, and have the mod itself all decompiled and added.

The majority of the java errors, however, aren't related to new methods. In the section at the top of just about every .java file (I'm also a java noob, but I don't really think this issue is so java-related) there are several lines that start with "import". Some of these have normal things following them, like "cpw.mods.fml..." (etc). The majority of the java errors are from lines like "import aab" and "import dk", which gives me "the import aab cannot be resolved" which in turn messes everything up further down in the code when it tries to use "aab" or whatever.

The only thing I can think of is that these correspond to the .class files in the original, compiled and obfuscated minecraft.jar. What can I do to figure out what on earth these are supposed to mean and fix them? I apologize in advance if this turns out to be a stupid question, as I couldn't find any evidence of anyone else having had this problem before.

/cough/ so I'm a bit of an idiot, I found the file in MCP containing all the names of the classes. Should I replace, say, every "aab" with "net.minecraft.item.crafting.RecipesMapCloning", for example? There also seems to be some ambiguity. Is there any way I can iron this out with certainty?

So it sounds like you are dealing with "obfuscated" class files. When Minecraft recompiles it's code it uses a system that essentially makes all class names, methods and fields almost unusable by renaming and refactoring them to names such as aab, aac, ect. This would explain why your import statements would include these weird names.