[Resolved] Blocks changing into other blocks

altorac12

I'm running into an issue while creating a new mod for 1.7.2.  I'm adding blocks then running the debug version of Minecraft in eclipse to place them to verify they are working properly and the textures are displaying as expected, and a couple of times now after a code change I've had blocks "shift" on me, where all of the block x's will turn into block y's, all the y's become z's and so on in the debug world.

I'm not changing the names of anything, and after the second time it happened I started playing around and figured out that if I changed the configuration file to remove a block, launched minecraft, then changed the configuration back I could get this sort of behavior.

I have quite a bit of programming/java experience but this is the first time I've tried to mod minecraft and I'm not sure what I could be doing to cause this, I'm hoping someone here might have some ideas.

I'm using Forge 10.12.1.1060.

Here is my main code file, if you want to see some of the individual item/block files I can post those too but they're pretty straight forward subclasses of the standard minecraft versions of those blocks/items.  The general idea is to add birch/spruce/etc. versions of some of the standard oak only blocks.

https://gist.github.com/anonymous/dedb9ca7a4124178f0dd

Edit: fixed link

Hi

My guess is that your ID allocation code (using i++) is getting out of step on save vs reload.  If you change your code, the numbers allocated to your blocks change, but of course they don't change in the saved world.

I'd suggest either changing to a more fixed ID allocation (at least - for debugging), or just regenerating your test world each time and don't worry about it.

-TGG