[SOLVED][1.7.10] Newbie stepping over to Forge

AnotherDeveloper

So many tutorials everywhere! Many of those videos are totally out dated and just don't fully work. Even what I'm finding on the Forge wiki has deprecated and non-existing lines of code for the current version (10.13.0.1180). I've been using ModLoader for 3 years and it was easy all the way. I didn't edit base classes and was able to do things that Forge did.

I never went over to Forge because I hated it, and still do hate it some bit now. It's a frustrating API and it's making me tempted to crush my indestructible mouse.

As of now I'm just browsing for my solutions, but if you'd like to answer them then here is the list:

• What up to date Forge tutorials can you recommend me? I am following ScratchForFun his tutorials right now.
  • I have the mcmod.info file with in src/main/resources but still I get it where it ask for the author to include it.
  • Where do I put my assets, such as items and blocks? I have it as src/main/resources/assets/shipcraft which works with lang related stuff but can't do it for textures.

The directory to put the textures for your blocks is /src/main/resources/assets/[modname]/textures/blocks

Put your item's textures in /src/main/resources/assets/[modname]/textures/items

If you don't have the assets, textures, blocks or items folders then create them :)

Also, your en_US.lang file (and all other lang files) should go into /src/main/resources/assets/[modname]/lang rather than the resources folder.

You can find an up-to-date tutorial for some of the basic things you might want to do here: http://www.minecraftforum.net/forums/mapping-and-modding/mapping-and-modding-tutorials/1571558-1-7-2-forge-add-new-block-item-entity-ai-creative

Hope that helps :)