[1.7.10] Help me develop my mod: Inventory Rules

caramba2654

Hello!

I'm coding my first mod, and I'd like some help to code it.

Here's what the mod is about:

INVENTORY RULES

Get random rules tagged to your player. If you follow them, you are rewarded. If you don't follow them... Let's say your life will become harder.

I'm developing this mod because I think it should be fun trying to follow rules like "Have 10 sticks in your inventory" or "Don;t have any items in the top row".

Anyways, as I said before, I need help coding it, because I'm a beginner programmer and I'm still getting the hang of things. I started following Pahimar's LetsModReboot tutorials, but I'm too impatient to wait and let him finish it. :v

So here's the source code: https://github.com/caramba2654/Inventory-Rules

What I need to do to get this thing going is:

1. Setup a keybind that opens the "Player Active Rules" PAR menu.

2. Have two items.

a. Rule Card: Contains the rule. GUI explaining the rule (just like written books sorta)

b. Rule Creator: Creates rules. May be used for debugging only, but it's needed. Would be nice if it had a GUI.

3. Be able to put a Rule Card inside the PAR and activate a potion effect (for now, crazier stuff is coming in the future)

I'm stuck on the "create rule" part. I want to be able to create a rule and assign it to a Rule Card using NBT, which will be read to determine the events that will happen to the player. The things I need as Rules components are:

1. Rule Type

2. Rule Creator

3. Rule Array of ItemStacks (can be a single ItemStack for now)

4. A random number [1;64]

5. A random number [1;4]

6. A random number [1;9]

7. Rule Good Consequences

8. Rule Bad Consequences

For now I'm just working with 1,2,3,4,5,6 because I think it's easier. I need to get Rules working before I can get them to do something, right?

So, can anyone help me on that? I'll answer any questions you might have about this.