[1.7.10]Custom Ladder. Full 1m block.

KnightDemon

Hello all.

Now this may sound like a trivial thing, however, what I'm trying to do is create a block that can be climbed like ladders and is a full 1m cube, a normal block size. Think of the spider pushing itself against a block, however I have searched through the vanilla code and discovered that when an entity is climbing, it passes through "isOnLadder" in EntityLivingBase or through "isLivingOnLadder" in ForgeHooks.

Now I'm a novice when it comes to java so I won't even attempt to say I know what this does. During my Google searches and my vanilla code search, I know that the Ladder block calls "isLadder()" to set it as a ladder, even in the description of that method it says it makes things climbable.

Before anyone says I haven't called it correctly or something, I have tested on changing the block bounds for my block and when I do that, the effect works. I can climb it, but when it's a full 1m cube, so minimum block bounds being 0.0, and max bound is 1.0, it won't work. Is there a way to make it work. I'm guessing the trouble is because the player isn't inside the block bounds of the block to climb on them, however I know that it should be possible to make a full 1m cube climbable as it's been done in other mods before now.

Can anyone provide any help with this matter? As an added note, my block does have a corresponding TileEntity, and it extends BlockContainer as such.

Yeah, I was working on the same thing today.  The thing is that a "collision" with a block doesn't really occur because the pathfinding and movement code prevents actually colliding (overlapping) with a solid normal block.  So the idea of a "collision" is really that the block allows the entity inside it's 1 cube space.  Basically things like fire and portals allow "collision" but that really means you can move into the block space.