Launch server through local network

Kamigaku

Hello and merry christmas, I hope Santa Creeper brought you a lot of present !

My friend and I are running a local server to play with each other, he launch his server from his computer and i acces it via his local ip. We are playing without problems but recently i wanted to play the game and i have to ask him all the time to launch the server so i can play on it. + his computer isn't that powerfull compared to mine so he can't do anything else while the server is up otherwise i'll have some lag. So why don't i create the server on my computer then ? Well, when we first started the creation of our server, i had java 1.8 installed and there is conflict with minecraft (i need java 1.8 because i'm a programmer). Right now i've fixed the problem and i can run just fine a minecraft server, but i'm not always as much present as my brother so we tought : "hey, we have our network box connected to each other, when we go the file "Network" we have acces to it and there is even an harddrive where we can put file on it." So we put our server inside it, and tried to run the forge minecraft. Problem is, the .jar never launch ! When we double click on it, it does nothing. We tried with the .exe (basic minecraft server) and it works, same for the other .jar but not with the forge.jar.

So i'm here, asking for help, basicly we want the ability to run our server when only one of us is here and we don't want to buy a server. We tried to put it on the hardrive of our network box, but only the forge.jar doesn't launch.

If anyone of you can help us, i'll be pleased, thanks :)

without the logs the answer will always be "a wizard did it".

a server should create a log under logs/fml-server-latest.log in your server folder. it should contain all data the server outputs, including the reason for a crash.