[1.7.10] Odd glitch encountered when changing item damage value

CactusCoffee

I'm a novice modder, so what I'm missing/doing wrong is probably rather obvious. I've done some looking around for tutorials / other support requests for relevant tips but couldn't find that either.

Anyway, part of the mod I'm making is an item which uses damage values as a charge: pretty basic, starts at 0 damage, using the item adds damage, item doesn't break at max damage, etc. That all works fine. But I also want to have another item used as fuel to recharge this item. I've got it so it consumes fuel on a button press when holding the item, depletes fuel, that also works as expected. However, when using the item after recharging, it acts as if it was not recharged.

Example: I use the item until it reaches a damage of, say, 34. On charging the item, it removes up to 10 damage points. So the item is now at 24 damage. When I use the item again, instead of going to 25 damage as expected, it goes to 35, as if the recharge didn't actually do anything.

It's not that it doesn't recharge; the damage meter appears properly, refilling as the item is recharged and disappearing at full charge. The item also uses addInformation() to display the charge as a tooltip, and that refills properly as well. So I'm proper confused. I've tried using both the setDamage(itemstack, value) and itemstack.damageItem(value) methods, both have the same result. I've also tried replacing the item with a new item with a lower damage value, but that prevented it from charging at all. I've seen mods like EE do this properly, what am I doing wrong?

Relevant code bits:

package [...]
import [...]
public class ItemStaff extends Item
{
protected ItemStaff(int l) 
{
	[...]
}
[...]
//Method for recharging
public void charge(ItemStack itemStack, EntityPlayer player)
{
	if (itemStack.stackTagCompound != null && getDamage(itemStack) > 0)
	{
		boolean flag = player.capabilities.isCreativeMode;