Experience help

ButterBean

Hello, I am attempting to make an rpg like mod that requires leveling, for example whenever you take damage you gain experience, and level up your health skill over time; however I don't know how to add multiple skills. Right now you can only level up one thing, but I want to make it so you can level up multiple things. Much like the mmorpg plugin that has a multitude of skills.

As in use the IExtendedProperties and events to manipulate the properties?:

I have heard of IExtendedProperties  but i'm currently not using it, is it the thing I need to add multiple skills that you can level up? I currently only know how to give the player the ability to level up one thing instead of many skills.

What do you mean by only modifying one skill?:

Not sure if I understand what you mean, sorry if I worded this oddly... I am still very new to modding, and am having a hard time explaining my situation. But was talking about as in vanilla minecraft there is only a single thing that you can gain experience for, how to add I multiple things to gain experience for?

I'm really trying to make something like this http://www.planetminecraft.com/mod/chaoscraft-2849881/

You claiming you can do what you want for one skill pretty much convinces me you have no idea what you are doing :D

Anyway, yeah: To store data per-player you need to implement IExtendedEntityProperties (IEEP).

Tut: http://www.minecraftforum.net/forums/mapping-and-modding/mapping-and-modding-tutorials/1571567-1-7-2-1-6-4-eventhandler-and

Create some mapping (HashMap?) that will hold data about given attributes (like in MCMMO plugin) and then use Forge Events (google it, I am talking about @SubscribeEvent) to keep track of player actions and change values in IEEP's mapping.

Then you can use multitude of ways to utilize your attribute map (or whatever you will call it, I am refering to things like "jumping" "attacking" "woodcutting"... etc.).