[1.9] Executing a Client command when client joins a server

TommyHoogstra

Hey everyone, I'm kinda new to forge but have a fair amount of java experience, I'm in a bit of a rush so I was hoping of someone could give me some pointers as google hasnt satisfied my needs.

I'm trying to get the client to run a command as soon as it joins a server, e.g. /auth 123111717

I've tried using the ClientConnectToServer (forgot its exact name, forgive me), EntityJoinWorldEvent, PlayerLoggedInEvent (i think this is for server side mods, excuse me if I'm wrong) but have had no such luck at getting a command to execute.

Any pointers, or examples?

Thanks

FMLNetworkEvent.ClientConnectedToServerEvent

or

EntityJoinWorldEvent

should work, though there's something to note about each event:

• All sub-events of
    FMLNetworkEvent

are fired on the Netty thread, so you need to schedule a task on the main thread using

IThreadListener

before you can safely interact with normal Minecraft classes. This is explained in slightly more detail here.

• EntityJoinWorldEvent

will be fired for every entity that joins the world and will also be fired when the player respawns or changes dimension.

PlayerLoggedInEvent

is only fired server-side, so it can't be used by a client-only mod in multiplayer (it will work in single player because the integrated server is running in the same JVM process as the client).

Use

ICommandManager#executeCommand

to execute a command. The

ICommandManager

for client commands is stored in the

ClientCommandHandler.instance

field.

Please don't PM me to ask for help. Asking your question in a public thread preserves it for people who are having the same problem in the future.

For the EntityJoinWorldEvent, couldn't I just check if the entity is instanceof EntityPlayerSP?

Yes, that should work.

Please don't PM me to ask for help. Asking your question in a public thread preserves it for people who are having the same problem in the future.