Correct way to obtian dimension ID

kingdadrules

I'm fairly new to modding & java, just starting to play with Dimension / Biome / Chink generation using minecraft 1.12 & have the following registered event listener class:

public class OneBiome {

@SubscribeEvent(priority=EventPriority.NORMAL, receiveCanceled=false)

public void onBiomeGenInit(net.minecraftforge.event.terraingen.WorldTypeEvent.InitBiomeGens event)
    {

GenLayer replacement[] = new GenLayer[2];

replacement[0] = new GenLayerConstant(40);

replacement[1] = replacement[0];
            event.setNewBiomeGens(replacement);
            return;

}
}	

How would I obtain the World / Dimension ID so I could change the replacement Biome dependent  on it? The sort of thing I want to do is:

if ("DIMENSION/WORLD??" = 0) {

replacement[0] = new GenLayerBIome(40) } else

{replacement[0] = new GenLayerBiome(41)}

I tried the approach: int world = Minecraft.getMinecraft().world.provider.getDimension();  but that returns a null value.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Well, you can probably do it a few different ways. I think having separate types helps for some things (like maybe needed for allowing user to select from new world menu). Also it really depends on how much customization you're doing in the world gen. I've personally found that reusing the vanilla dimension types can cause trouble because the dimension type is what points to the WorldProvider. So for example if you're making modifications to the world provider I think it is best to have new type.

In any case, at some point you need to register the dimension to the DimensionManager. I personally use same registration ID for that as for the DimensionType, but again that is because I tend to do new DimensionType as well. note that the DimensionType also has a name which can be used to make it easier to remember which is which. But at the point where you are calling the DimensionManager.register() method, you will know the ID.