Jump to content

[SOLVED] NullPointerException For Entity [1.16.5]


aritod

Recommended Posts

I get this stacktrace and then crash when joining my world with custom entity:

 

[Render thread/FATAL] [minecraft/Minecraft]: Unreported exception thrown!
java.lang.NullPointerException: null
    at net.minecraft.client.renderer.entity.EntityRendererManager.shouldRender(EntityRendererManager.java:238) ~[forge-1.16.5-36.1.0_mapped_official_1.16.5-recomp.jar:?] {re:classloading,pl:accesstransformer:B,pl:runtimedistcleaner:A}
    at net.minecraft.client.renderer.WorldRenderer.renderLevel(WorldRenderer.java:987) ~[forge-1.16.5-36.1.0_mapped_official_1.16.5-recomp.jar:?] {re:classloading,pl:runtimedistcleaner:A}
    at net.minecraft.client.renderer.GameRenderer.renderLevel(GameRenderer.java:608) ~[forge-1.16.5-36.1.0_mapped_official_1.16.5-recomp.jar:?] {re:classloading,pl:accesstransformer:B,pl:runtimedistcleaner:A}
    at net.minecraft.client.renderer.GameRenderer.render(GameRenderer.java:425) ~[forge-1.16.5-36.1.0_mapped_official_1.16.5-recomp.jar:?] {re:classloading,pl:accesstransformer:B,pl:runtimedistcleaner:A}
    at net.minecraft.client.Minecraft.runTick(Minecraft.java:976) ~[forge-1.16.5-36.1.0_mapped_official_1.16.5-recomp.jar:?] {re:classloading,pl:accesstransformer:B,pl:runtimedistcleaner:A}
    at net.minecraft.client.Minecraft.run(Minecraft.java:607) ~[forge-1.16.5-36.1.0_mapped_official_1.16.5-recomp.jar:?] {re:classloading,pl:accesstransformer:B,pl:runtimedistcleaner:A}
    at net.minecraft.client.main.Main.main(Main.java:184) ~[forge-1.16.5-36.1.0_mapped_official_1.16.5-recomp.jar:?] {re:classloading,pl:runtimedistcleaner:A}
    at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method) ~[?:1.8.0_171] {}
    at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(NativeMethodAccessorImpl.java:62) ~[?:1.8.0_171] {}
    at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.java:43) ~[?:1.8.0_171] {}
    at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Method.java:498) ~[?:1.8.0_171] {}
    at net.minecraftforge.userdev.FMLUserdevClientLaunchProvider.lambda$launchService$0(FMLUserdevClientLaunchProvider.java:52) ~[forge-1.16.5-36.1.0_mapped_official_1.16.5-recomp.jar:?] {}
    at cpw.mods.modlauncher.LaunchServiceHandlerDecorator.launch(LaunchServiceHandlerDecorator.java:37) [modlauncher-8.0.9.jar:?] {}
    at cpw.mods.modlauncher.LaunchServiceHandler.launch(LaunchServiceHandler.java:54) [modlauncher-8.0.9.jar:?] {}
    at cpw.mods.modlauncher.LaunchServiceHandler.launch(LaunchServiceHandler.java:72) [modlauncher-8.0.9.jar:?] {}
    at cpw.mods.modlauncher.Launcher.run(Launcher.java:82) [modlauncher-8.0.9.jar:?] {}
    at cpw.mods.modlauncher.Launcher.main(Launcher.java:66) [modlauncher-8.0.9.jar:?] {}
    at net.minecraftforge.userdev.LaunchTesting.main(LaunchTesting.java:105) [forge-1.16.5-36.1.0_mapped_official_1.16.5-recomp.jar:?] {}

 

Here are my classes:

 

Entity Class:

383189417_ScreenShot2021-05-19at4_53_10PM.thumb.png.81746a9f254387415d5afe6e80d665d9.png

 

Renderer Class:

502343619_ScreenShot2021-05-19at4_53_42PM.thumb.png.908e9bde1704e97a06bab4a2b3dfb4cf.png

 

Registering Class:

1796129046_ScreenShot2021-05-19at4_56_55PM.thumb.png.4170c26e2091655cbf20cb8db3f7250e.png

 

Help would be appreciated!

 

Edited by aritod
Solved
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • aritod changed the title to [URGENT] NullPointerException For Entity [1.16.5]

1. Don't use OnlyIn, properly side off your code.

2. You never register your entity renderer, the static method isn't called anywhere so nothing happens. Register it within FMLClientSetupEvent.

3. Attributes are never registered, same reason. Use the EntityAttributeCreationEvent for this.

 

Edited by ChampionAsh5357
Link to comment
Share on other sites

10 hours ago, ChampionAsh5357 said:

1. Don't use OnlyIn, properly side off your code.

2. You never register your entity renderer, the static method isn't called anywhere so nothing happens. Register it within FMLClientSetupEvent.

3. Attributes are never registered, same reason. Use the EntityAttributeCreationEvent for this.

 

Hi, sorry that was my old code. I actually did all these things beforehand but it still crashes.

 

My code looks like this:

 

Main Class:

761034157_ScreenShot2021-05-20at10_12_07AM.thumb.png.9fe2a4b852752a4797876551842db1c2.png

 

 

Renderer Class:

461794437_ScreenShot2021-05-20at10_12_28AM.thumb.png.94334e29e06917196f8abb20644e8c10.png

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

33 minutes ago, diesieben07 said:

Look at the parameters for the EventBusSubscriber annotation.

 

The parameter 'bus' in EventBusSubscriber is using Mod.EventBusSubscriber.Bus.MOD which is the mod event bus so I'm not sure why it is using the forge event bus.

The parameter 'value' does not seem to be related but I added it as a parameter because it says that it is only necessary if it is not on the same class that has a @Mod annotation.

 

 

It still crashes so I'm not really sure what I should be looking for.

 

This is my code:

2145631072_ScreenShot2021-05-20at3_32_33PM.thumb.png.77a698ec97c184e68029ffc71fff3c86.png

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Please link a paste of the EntityType object initialization, where the associated register is attached to the event bus, the renderer, where the renderer is registered, and where the attributes are registered. I know you might have already sent them, but I would like full context rather than pictures of partial snippets.

 

Also, you shouldn't be passing in a new instance of the Reloadable resource manager. Grab the one within the Minecraft instance and pass that in.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

27 minutes ago, ChampionAsh5357 said:

Please link a paste of the EntityType object initialization, where the associated register is attached to the event bus, the renderer, where the renderer is registered, and where the attributes are registered. I know you might have already sent them, but I would like full context rather than pictures of partial snippets.

 

Also, you shouldn't be passing in a new instance of the Reloadable resource manager. Grab the one within the Minecraft instance and pass that in.

https://paste.gemwire.uk/view/98040c70

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, ChampionAsh5357 said:

Is the error still the same? If so, could you put breakpoints within the client setup event where you register the renderer and attribute creation to make sure both events do run and call their methods?

The error is still the same and both ClientSetupEvent and EntityAttributeCreationEvent are called after checking through debug mode.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

There's nothing that suggests the error is outside of #shouldRender meaning that the entity renderer might be null somehow. However, there is nothing that suggests an error can occur there with the snippets.

Would you mind posting a link to your repository on Github, Gitlab, etc.? I'm going to build a local workspace and see if I can't debug it.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, ChampionAsh5357 said:

There's nothing that suggests the error is outside of #shouldRender meaning that the entity renderer might be null somehow. However, there is nothing that suggests an error can occur there with the snippets.

Would you mind posting a link to your repository on Github, Gitlab, etc.? I'm going to build a local workspace and see if I can't debug it.

https://github.com/ForgeModDev/LogFixer/tree/master

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Found the error, and its annoying. The resource location being passed into the rendering handler has the modid written twice, once in the namespace and once in the path. The path does not accept colons, so an error was thrown which was eaten by the lambda and discarded. All you need to do is remove the modid and the colon from the path of the resource location in ModRenderers.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, ChampionAsh5357 said:

Found the error, and its annoying. The resource location being passed into the rendering handler has the modid written twice, once in the namespace and once in the path. The path does not accept colons, so an error was thrown which was eaten by the lambda and discarded. All you need to do is remove the modid and the colon from the path of the resource location in ModRenderers.

Thank you so much! Can't believe something as little as that was the cause of this. Now I can finally continue working on my mod. Thanks to everyone who helped

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • aritod changed the title to [SOLVED] NullPointerException For Entity [1.16.5]

This is my first time posting on this forum, so I don't know If I should make a completely new post for this, but I am having trouble with a similar thing.

EntityRenderManager.shouldRender is throwing a NullPointerException, but the decription is "Unexpected Error".

I tried doing what OP did but it didn't fix anything. I have seperate classes for the Renderers though and it might have something to do with that.

Can I just post my code here or should I create a new topic as mentioned? (Dont wanna upset anyone)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Announcements



  • Recently Browsing

    • No registered users viewing this page.
  • Posts

    • I have a structure, and sometimes several mobs spawn there. This is a boss and must spawn alone. Here is the code for spawning entities in the structure { "type": "minecraft:jigsaw", "start_pool": "egyptcraft:boss_pyramid/start_pool", "size": 5, "max_distance_from_center": 80, "biomes": "#egyptcraft:has_structure/boss_pyramid", "step": "surface_structures", "start_height": { "absolute": 0 }, "project_start_to_heightmap": "WORLD_SURFACE_WG", "use_expansion_hack": false, "spawn_overrides": { "monster": { "bounding_box": "full", "spawns": [ { "type": "egyptcraft:anubis", "maxCount": 1, "minCount": 1, "weight": 100 } ] } } } Maybe it's something else?
    • I have OreGenEvent.GenerateMinable event, I need to get a chance to spawn (generate) every ore that is processed in this event. Also e.getType().name().toString() is name this is the same block name by which it can be entered in the Block.getByID?  forge 1.12.2 59(recommended)
    • Hello everybody! Out of nowhere my minecraft doesn't allow me to play on forge 1.19.2 I tried to reinstall minecraft, doesn't have any mod right now on the forge version. Tried the newest version of forge, tried recommended version as well. I have the newest version of Java as well...   I dont know why it stopped working but it just stopped completly out of nowhere...   Thank you so much for your help guys ❤️
    • Hello, my world is crashing at 0% loaded and I don't know why. (Forge 43.2.14, 1.19.2) I have two worlds that I play on, and one works and the other doesn't, even with the same mod list. Here's the crash report: https://pastebin.com/AUbRwkGj
    • Minecraft 1.12.2 Very frustrating error. only ever occurs on one device. Started yesterday without prompting (maybe java updated or something?) Says things that have been imported actually arent when running client Reinstalled Intellij, cleared cache, cleaned and rebuilt gradle, redownloaded the entire file from git. Nothing works. (I believe I have the right plugins installed, dependencies OK, and am using corretto 1.8).   One thing I did for more of the below errors was just to explicitly import them, which was working up until this little guy who literally does not exist in forge to import. the class inhereting something inhereting it refers to import net.minecraftforge.registries.IForgeRegistryEntry.Impl, not net.minecraftforge.registries.IForgeRegistryEntry$Impl as the output implies. also I didn't even have to manually import these things for it to work on my other device. (which is just importing the minecraft package that contains them), but here I did have to just to get rid of a few errors--not even make anything work?? I dont know. (edited) here's the aforementioned "below error" (one of many like it): error: cannot access net.minecraftforge.registries.IForgeRegistryEntry.Impl public class BlockBase extends Block {        ^   class file for net.minecraftforge.registries.IForgeRegistryEntry$Impl not found Here's the class BlockBase:   package com.quantum.exodus.common.blocks; import com.quantum.exodus.ExodusMod; import net.minecraft.block.Block; import net.minecraft.block.material.Material; import net.minecraft.creativetab.CreativeTabs; import net.minecraft.item.Item; import net.minecraft.item.ItemBlock; import net.minecraftforge.registries.IForgeRegistryEntry.Impl; public class BlockBase extends Block { protected String name; public BlockBase(Material material, String name) { super(material); this.name = name; setTranslationKey(name); setRegistryName(name); } public void registerItemModel(Item itemBlock) { ExodusMod.proxy.registerItemRenderer(itemBlock, 0, name); } public Item createItemBlock() { return new ItemBlock(this).setRegistryName(getRegistryName()); } @Override public BlockBase setCreativeTab(CreativeTabs tab) { super.setCreativeTab(tab); return this; } }
  • Topics

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.