[1.7.10] Help with structure generation

graywolf69

I am making a structure that I want to randomly generate in minecraft. I was following a tutorial, but when I tried to run the game and make a new world, it froze while "building terrain". I closed mc, commented out the line where it generated the structure, and tried it again. When I opened the world, I saw that it had generated structures on top of eachother, basically carpeting the world with my structure. How can I change my code to make it more rare? Here is my structure: http://pastebin.com/9h4ek94g And here is my world gen file: http://pastebin.com/iwvdakTK. The tutorial I was following said to change this line to make it more common/rare, specifically the 10: for(int l = 0; l < 10; l++). How do I fix this, and narrow it down to about 4 per biome (Only spawns in plains) so that I can find it quickly in testing? Thank you for any help you can give, I am new to modding!

You just have to think through the math and logic to understand it. In this case there are two things wrong. In the for loop the number 10 represents how many structures will generate per chunk. So in this case you're getting 10 per chunk. There is randomness in the position but not in the generation so I think there will always be 10 per chunk.

Next you need to consider the size of your structure. A chunk is only 16 x 16 (x and z) and it looks like your structure is around 35 x 35. So your structure can't even fit into one chunk! So you definitely don't want 10 per chunk...

Instead what you need to do is to use a random chance of even calling the spawn so it is only called every several chunks. I'm not sure what the average biome size is, but I feel it is something like 20 chunks per side or something like that. So that means 400 chunks per biome and you want 4 structures per biome so you want a 1 percent chance of generation per chunk.