Jump to content

[Java][Opinion] Making static classes.


Ernio

Recommended Posts

I am not a professional coder, never studied it (just learned), it's more of a hobby.

 

Question is: In order to make namings "nice" - is it worth to make static classes, e.g:

 

public class ItemCore extends Item
{
public ItemCore(String name)
{
	super();
	//whatever (cut)
}

public static class ItemDust extends ItemCore
{
	public ItemDust(String name);
	{
		super("dust_" + name);
	}
}

public static class ItemOil extends ItemCore
{
	public ItemOil(String name)
	{
		super("oil_" + name);
	}
}
}

 

Meaning - is there a VALID (good practice or bad?) point in making it, or is it pointless?

1.7.10 is no longer supported by forge, you are on your own.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Isn't one issue with nested classes that you need an instance of the outer class to create an instance of the inner class. So using it for items like in Ernio's example, you'd have to make an ItemCore instance that is just for purpose of allowing inner classes to be instantiated, even though the itemCore instance is never otherwise used/registered as an item in Forge.

 

Seems a little convoluted just for naming convenience, especially since you have a good, cleaner alternative: I think it makes more sense for naming to have the standard Items class where you have nicely named instances of the items as member fields (not classes).

Check out my tutorials here: http://jabelarminecraft.blogspot.com/

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Isn't one issue with nested classes that you need an instance of the outer class to create an instance of the inner class. So using it for items like in Ernio's example, you'd have to make an ItemCore instance that is just for purpose of allowing inner classes to be instantiated, even though the itemCore instance is never otherwise used/registered as an item in Forge.

 

Seems a little convoluted just for naming convenience, especially since you have a good, cleaner alternative: I think it makes more sense for naming to have the standard Items class where you have nicely named instances of the items as member fields (not classes).

As i know and if you haven't said it: static nested classes do not require instance of parent class (can be instanated by new ParentClass.NestedClass()), but non static do (only new parentClassIntsance.NestedClass() will work)...

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hi

I have found myself using a static class only when I am creating subclasses in the super class for the purpose of quickness \ less classes with very little code (I have done this in the item initialization and registry class and created subclasses there). In the item registry class, the methods should be declared "static". If the case is that your subclass references a static variable or method from the super class, the subclass must be static or eclipse will throw errors. Sounds confusing until you try it!

Development of Plugins [2012 - 2014] Development of Mods [2012 - Current]

Link to comment
Share on other sites

elix is right with that. if u think a bit about what static means in java ull know

 

Yeah, the terminology for "nested" versus "inner" confuses me sometimes. I wish they just called them static nested and non-static nested. Instead non-static nested is called inner. I realize the terminology makes sense in terms of access of the outside class members, but still seems a bit inconsistent.

 

I was remembering (rightly) that all inner classes require an instance, but inner class is basically "non-static nested" class. There is no such thing as "static inner".

Check out my tutorials here: http://jabelarminecraft.blogspot.com/

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Ernio, I think in your example it would be better to just pass ('prefix_' + name) to your constructor as necessary with one single class, especially if you will only have one instance of each subclass.

 

Also, if you are planning on only using a class once, you may want to consider anonymous classes. I often use them if, for example, I have a 'special case' within my class that could instead be handled by overriding a single (or sometimes two) method as an anonymous class, most often with Items.

 

So instead of:

public void someMethod() {
  if (this == MyItems.specialItem) {
     // do something special
  } else {
     // do something mundane
  }
}

 

I end up with:

// original class:
public void someMethod() {
  // do something mundane
}

// when instantiating my SpecialItem:
specialItem = (new SomeItem() {
  @Override
  public void someMethod() {
     // do something special
  }
});
// note: you don't technically need to surround your anonymous class declaration in parentheses, but you will need to
// if you are going to chain any methods off of it, e.g. setUnlocalizedName, setCreativeTabs, or anything like that

 

This summary, while a bit too concise, still sort of explains typical use cases for nested, inner, and anonymous classes, among other things.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 7 months later...

The reasons you would like to use nested static classes are explained here:

http://stackoverflow.com/a/253521

I still haven't published a mod because I can never get that in-dev version just right to warrant a public release. And yes, after two years of mod development I am still learning to speak Java.

 

Follow me on GitHub: https://github.com/yooksi

Contact me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/yooksi

Read my Minecraft blog: https://yooksidoesminecraft.blogspot.de/

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Announcements



  • Recently Browsing

    • No registered users viewing this page.
  • Posts

    • C:\Minecraft Server>java -Xmx4096M -Xms1024M -jar server.jar nogui Starting net.minecraft.server.Main ERROR StatusConsoleListener Unable to delete file C:\Minecraft Server\logs\latest.log: java.nio.file.FileSystemException C:\Minecraft Server\logs\latest.log: The process cannot access the file because it is being used by another process ^CTerminate batch job (Y/N)?
    • Oke i tried to download a different mod and try that out on my server and i get the same error. Now i know for a fact that my port forwarding and server is working properly, because i can join them without adding any mods into the server file, but then i dont know what i am doing wrong 
    • Salutation to you ladies and gentlemen, i must confidently say a very big thanks to Fastfundrecovery8 AT GMAIL COM for their tremendous action taken over my case immediately brought to their table, i saw how the whole process was going, and i wisperred to myself and said indeed i am previlledge to know such a legitimate recovery company who is very understable and do not stress their client over recovery software tools, Fastfunds Recovery are good in keeping to time, punctuality, I was scammed last year December 18, i realized that my long investment which i inteded to withdraw has long been a scam, got so frustrated, hired 4 recovery hackers which ended up taking money from me and i couldn't contact them anymore, i went through emotional pains and betrayer, wasn't easy for me at that moment, am very greatful for FastFunds Recovery, who was referred to me by a civil engineer who i was opportuned to share part of my story with and he was like i have a cyber friend do reach and say i'm from Pato's, that's how i got in touch with fastfundsrecovery8(@)gmail(.)com, do inform FastFunds recovery for any cyber issues. Fastfundsrecovery8 AT GMAIL WILL ALWAYS HELP GET BACK YOUR FUNDS.
    • Hello everyone i have made a server with forge and have added pixelmon into the server. But for some reason i keep getting "Internal Exception: io.netty.handles.codec.DecoderException: Not enough bytes in buffer, expected 105, byt got 48". I tried upping the ram of the server to 2GB but it didnt solve anything. I have 16 GB of ram on my pc (where i host the server), but i cant seem to get it to work. Pixelmon does work when i try to go into singleplayer, but for some reason just doesnt work online   Edit: server logs sais nothing aswell [18:55:49] [ServerMain/INFO]: Environment: Environment[accountsHost=https://api.mojang.com, sessionHost=https://sessionserver.mojang.com, servicesHost=https://api.minecraftservices.com, name=PROD] [18:55:50] [ServerMain/INFO]: Loaded 7 recipes [18:55:51] [ServerMain/INFO]: Loaded 1271 advancements [18:55:51] [Server thread/INFO]: Starting minecraft server version 1.20.2 [18:55:51] [Server thread/INFO]: Loading properties [18:55:51] [Server thread/INFO]: Default game type: SURVIVAL [18:55:51] [Server thread/INFO]: Generating keypair [18:55:51] [Server thread/INFO]: Starting Minecraft server on *:xxxx [18:55:51] [Server thread/INFO]: Using default channel type [18:55:51] [Server thread/INFO]: Preparing level "world" [18:55:52] [Server thread/INFO]: Preparing start region for dimension minecraft:overworld [18:55:53] [Worker-Main-8/INFO]: Preparing spawn area: 0% [18:55:53] [Worker-Main-8/INFO]: Preparing spawn area: 0% [18:55:53] [Worker-Main-8/INFO]: Preparing spawn area: 0% [18:55:53] [Worker-Main-12/INFO]: Preparing spawn area: 0% [18:55:54] [Worker-Main-11/INFO]: Preparing spawn area: 31% [18:55:54] [Server thread/INFO]: Time elapsed: 2344 ms [18:55:54] [Server thread/INFO]: Done (2.865s)! For help, type "help" [18:55:56] [User Authenticator #1/INFO]: UUID of player kemal007023 is 9a2a1dff-fa06-4e29-b57d-b1e6afb2db87 [18:55:56] [Server thread/INFO]: kemal007023[/xxxx] logged in with entity id 271 at (9.497695306619189, 68.0, 10.973182362716573) [18:55:56] [Server thread/INFO]: kemal007023 joined the game [18:55:56] [Server thread/INFO]: kemal007023 lost connection: Disconnected [18:55:56] [Server thread/INFO]: kemal007023 left the game [18:56:00] [User Authenticator #2/INFO]: UUID of player kemal007023 is 9a2a1dff-fa06-4e29-b57d-b1e6afb2db87 [18:56:00] [Server thread/INFO]: kemal007023[xxxx] logged in with entity id 272 at (9.497695306619189, 68.0, 10.973182362716573) [18:56:00] [Server thread/INFO]: kemal007023 joined the game [18:56:00] [Server thread/INFO]: kemal007023 lost connection: Disconnected [18:56:00] [Server thread/INFO]: kemal007023 left the game  
    • Hi, im making a BlockEntity that can contain fluids, and render them in the GUI, only one fluid works perfectly, I can fill or drain it, sync it to the client, and render it. The problem comes when i try to have two fluids in the same GUI, depending on what I delete or leave, the fluids act differently; for example, deleting both of them from "saveAdditional" and "load" methods makes that the fluids cannot render. Also, it can only render one fluid alone, or again, render one fluid, but twice (copies one fluid to the other one). FYI the left one is water, the right one is a red custom fluid. How can I fix this? BoilerBlockEntity: https://pastebin.com/e6b2U3sD BoilerMenu: https://pastebin.com/D375yCNr BoilerScreen: https://pastebin.com/WMrK83Du 
  • Topics

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.