gradlew setupDecompWorkspace not working with Eclipse Mars

Eighty8keyGuru

Hello. I am new to modding and following a tutorial for minecraft 1.8. The thing is, I can't even setup the forge gradle files because it is unsuccessful when I run the command:

gradlew setupDecompWorkspace --refresh-dependencies

I type it exactly as it is written here in a cmd prompt I opened inside the extracted forge folder. Note that I did place the extracted forge and eclipse folders under the same parent folder. The error message I'm getting after the "Powered by MCP" stuff is:

:extractMcpData

:getVersionJson

:extractUserdev

:genSrgs SKIPPED

:extractNatives

:getAssetsIndex

:getAssets

:makeStart

[ant:javac] warning: [options] bootstrap class path not set in conjunction with -source 1.6

[ant:javac] 1 warning

:downloadMcpTools SKIPPED

:downloadClient SKIPPED

downloadServer SKIPPED

:mergeJars FAILED

FAILURE: Build failed with an exception.

*What went wrong:

Execution failed for task ':mergeJars'.

> java.util.zip.ZipException: error in opening zip file

Then it suggests I try running with stacktrace, which I've tried but like I said, I'm new to modding so I don't understand any of it.

The strange thing is that when I follow the tutorial and do the same exact command for forge 1.7.10, it works perfectly. It was fine until the tutorial started using methods that were newly implemented in 1.8. Sometimes I also get the same error but with the ":splitServerJar" process. What do these errors mean, and how can I fix? Thanks for any advice.

~ Do not go where the path may lead, go instead where there is no path and leave a trail.

--Ralph Waldo Emerson

I was just following the tutorial to the letter hoping I had spelled it wrong the first time or something. I've tried several times in 1.8 with no luck. And yes I've installed the jdk 1.8_91 for the correct windows x64. I even did the javac command to check and it came out fine.