[1.11.2] Removing creative flying 'drift'?

Isabellav253

TL;DR - Where's the code for the 'flying drift' in creative mode?

I'm relatively new to modding and have been trying to make a simple mod which removes the 'drift' motion when flying in creative mode (like when you walk on ice). (makes the game unplayable for me due to motion sickness).

I'm using Eclipse & have been looking extensively but can't seem to find the code that controls this 'drift'.

Would love some help on this.

That is hardcoded in the way entities move. Basically while the player holds a movement button their motion gets set to a specific amount. As the button is released the motion gradually decreases by something like motionX *= 0.9 in the onUpdate method.

You can however easily disable the 'drift' effect as you call it. Create an eventhandler that will handle client player's tick(or a client tick), check if the player is in creative and is flying, check that none of movement keys are pressed (you can get them in GameSettings which you can obtain from a Minecraft instance), and if all conditions are met simply set motionX and motionZ to 0.

8 hours ago, V0idWa1k3r said:

That is hardcoded in the way entities move. Basically while the player holds a movement button their motion gets set to a specific amount. As the button is released the motion gradually decreases by something like motionX *= 0.9 in the onUpdate method.

You can however easily disable the 'drift' effect as you call it. Create an eventhandler that will handle client player's tick(or a client tick), check if the player is in creative and is flying, check that none of movement keys are pressed (you can get them in GameSettings which you can obtain from a Minecraft instance), and if all conditions are met simply set motionX and motionZ to 0.

That sounds like it would work.
I've been looking at tutorials for ~3 hours now and can't figure out where to put what code.