Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Posted (edited)

I'm trying to register the TileEnity for my custom block called "data_block", but Forge says that the method I'm using is obsolete, and also I don't even know if I'm doing it right.

 

GameRegistry.registerTileEntity(DataTileEntity.class, Reference.MOD_ID + ".data_block"); //This is in preInit of Main.

 

I say that I don't know if I'm doing it right because I've also seen different people us all of the following when entering the path string for TileEntites.

 

Reference.MOD_ID + "data_block"

Reference.MOD_ID + ".data_block"

Reference.MOD_ID + "_data_block"

Reference.MOD_ID + ":data_block"

Edited by MrDireball
additional information
Posted

How I do it is something like:

  Reveal hidden contents

and then call the method in your Main.java init method.

Posted
  On 1/10/2019 at 2:21 AM, MrDireball said:

I'm trying to register the TileEnity for my custom block called "data_block", but Forge says that the method I'm using is obsolete, and also I don't even know if I'm doing it right.

 

GameRegistry.registerTileEntity(DataTileEntity.class, Reference.MOD_ID + ".data_block"); //This is in preInit of Main.

 

I say that I don't know if I'm doing it right because I've also seen different people us all of the following when entering the path string for TileEntites.

 

Reference.MOD_ID + "data_block"

Reference.MOD_ID + ".data_block"

Reference.MOD_ID + "_data_block"

Reference.MOD_ID + ":data_block"

Expand  

 

I believe it needs to be a ResourceLocation instead of just a String

e.g.,

 

GameRegistry.registerTileEntity(DataTileEntity.class, new ResourceLocation(Reference.MOD_ID + ".data_block"));

 

  • Like 1
Posted
  On 1/10/2019 at 3:26 AM, cptcorndog said:

 

I believe it needs to be a ResourceLocation instead of just a String

e.g.,

 

GameRegistry.registerTileEntity(DataTileEntity.class, new ResourceLocation(Reference.MOD_ID + ".data_block"));

 

Expand  

Using this method made the obsolete warning go away and seems to be the correct way of doing it, but how do I check to see if it actually ends up getting registered?

Posted
  On 1/10/2019 at 2:31 AM, Siqhter said:

How I do it is something like:

  Reveal hidden contents

and then call the method in your Main.java init method.

Expand  

Don't do that, please. You're registering your TE with a plain string and not even prefixing it with your mod ID.  That method is even deprecated in recent Forge builds.  Correct way is:

GameRegistry.registerTileEntity(YourTileEntity.class, new ResourceLocation("your_mod_id", "your_tile_entity_name));

 

  On 1/10/2019 at 4:37 AM, MrDireball said:

Using this method made the obsolete warning go away and seems to be the correct way of doing it, but how do I check to see if it actually ends up getting registered?

Expand  

You'll know pretty quickly if you registered it when you attempt to place any blocks of that tile entity. If you can place them, your TE is registered :)  However, if the registerTileEntity() call didn't throw an exception or log a warning in your log file, it should be safe to assume it succeeded.

Posted
  On 1/10/2019 at 11:53 AM, desht said:

Don't do that, please. You're registering your TE with a plain string and not even prefixing it with your mod ID.  That method is even deprecated in recent Forge builds.  Correct way is:

Expand  

Thanks.

Posted
  On 1/10/2019 at 11:53 AM, desht said:

Don't do that, please. You're registering your TE with a plain string and not even prefixing it with your mod ID.  That method is even deprecated in recent Forge builds.  Correct way is:

GameRegistry.registerTileEntity(YourTileEntity.class, new ResourceLocation("your_mod_id", "your_tile_entity_name));

 

You'll know pretty quickly if you registered it when you attempt to place any blocks of that tile entity. If you can place them, your TE is registered :)  However, if the registerTileEntity() call didn't throw an exception or log a warning in your log file, it should be safe to assume it succeeded.

Expand  

I disabled the line of code that I had in Main, and nothing happened. Then I realized that I had put code in CommonProxy to register it, and apparently didn't need anything in Main. So I commented out the code in CommonProxy to see what would happen. I was able to place the block and interact with it and everything, and I saw no indication in-game that something was wrong, but errors were repeatedly logged in the console complaining about missing mapping or something.

Posted (edited)
  On 1/10/2019 at 6:01 PM, MrDireball said:

I disabled the line of code that I had in Main, and nothing happened. Then I realized that I had put code in CommonProxy to register it, and apparently didn't need anything in Main. So I commented out the code in CommonProxy to see what would happen. I was able to place the block and interact with it and everything, and I saw no indication in-game that something was wrong, but errors were repeatedly logged in the console complaining about missing mapping or something.

Expand  

Tile entity registration needs to be done on both client and server, so why are you even using a proxy??  While we're at it, "CommonProxy" is an anti-pattern you should get rid of. The whole point of proxies is to implement different behaviour on the client and server; if the same code needs to be executed, then it shouldn't be in a proxy at all. The correct way to do this is to create an IProxy interface, and two implementations: a ClientProxy for the client and ServerProxy for the server. Pass those classnames to your @SidedProxy annotation, and define your proxy object with type IProxy.

 

As for your tile entities, just register them from your FMLPreInitializationEvent handler.

Edited by desht
Posted
  On 1/11/2019 at 11:49 AM, desht said:

Tile entity registration needs to be done on both client and server, so why are you even using a proxy??  While we're at it, "CommonProxy" is an anti-pattern you should get rid of. The whole point of proxies is to implement different behaviour on the client and server; if the same code needs to be executed, then it shouldn't be in a proxy at all. The correct way to do this is to create an IProxy interface, and two implementations: a ClientProxy for the client and ServerProxy for the server. Pass those classnames to your @SidedProxy annotation, and define your proxy object with type IProxy.

 

As for your tile entities, just register them from your FMLPreInitializationEvent handler.

Expand  

I just learned both Java and how to mod Minecraft a few days ago, so I don't actually know what a proxy is. I was just told somewhere to register TileEntities in a proxy.

Posted (edited)
  On 1/13/2019 at 1:46 AM, MrDireball said:

I just learned both Java and how to mod Minecraft a few days ago, so I don't actually know what a proxy is. I was just told somewhere to register TileEntities in a proxy.

Expand  

Whoever told you that didn't know what they were talking about. Proxies exist because the Minecraft client and server, while sharing a lot of common code, also do things that other does not, e.g. the client knows about models, textures, GUI's, and the server neither knows nor cares about such things - try to register a model on the server, and it'll crash. So you should be doing client-side specific code from your side-specific proxy implementation. On the other hand, tile entity registration is identical on both sides, so proxies are completely unnecessary there.

 

Have a read of https://mcforge.readthedocs.io/en/latest/concepts/sides/ and when you're done, go back and read it again.  It's really important to understand this fundamental Forge concept.

Edited by desht

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Announcements



  • Recently Browsing

    • No registered users viewing this page.
  • Posts

    • Cracked Launchers are not supported
    • Hi, I have a problem in minecraft java (only in forge 1.20.1), When I start the game after a moment the game crashed with code 1 this only in forge 1.20.1 , I tried to reinstall java, Upgrade java to 17, update the drivers to the latest version, downgrade the drivers to the pervious version, deleting .minecraft and reinstall it , but none of these ways working.   here is the log:   [Launcher] Launching Minecraft... I'm hiding! mods after C:\Users\Windows\AppData\Roaming\.minecraft\mods\tl_skin_cape_forge_1.20_1.20.1-1.32.jar [InnerMinecraftServersImpl]  search changers of the servers read servers from servers.dat [] [InnerMinecraftServersImpl]  prepare inner servers save servers to servers.dat [Launcher] Game skin type: TLAUNCHER [Launcher] Starting Minecraft Forge 1.20.1... [Launcher] Launching in: C:\Users\Windows\AppData\Roaming\.minecraft Starting garbage collector: 96 / 227 MB Garbage collector completed: 60 / 214 MB [Launcher] Processing post-launch actions. Assist launch: true =============================================================================================== [05:29:03] [main/INFO]: ModLauncher running: args [--username, *********, --version, Forge 1.20.1, --gameDir, C:\Users\Windows\AppData\Roaming\.minecraft, --assetsDir, C:\Users\Windows\AppData\Roaming\.minecraft\assets, --assetIndex, 5, --uuid, *************************************, --accessToken, вќ„вќ„вќ„вќ„вќ„вќ„вќ„вќ„, --clientId, null, --xuid, null, --userType, mojang, --versionType, modified, --width, 925, --height, 530, --launchTarget, forgeclient, --fml.forgeVersion, 47.3.22, --fml.mcVersion, 1.20.1, --fml.forgeGroup, net.minecraftforge, --fml.mcpVersion, 20230612.114412] [05:29:04] [main/INFO]: ModLauncher 10.0.9+10.0.9+main.dcd20f30 starting: java version 17.0.12 by Oracle Corporation; OS Windows 10 arch amd64 version 10.0 [05:29:15] [main/INFO]: Loading ImmediateWindowProvider fmlearlywindow [05:29:24] [main/INFO]: Trying GL version 4.6 [05:29:60] [main/INFO]: Requested GL version 4.6 got version 4.6 [05:29:67] [main/INFO]: SpongePowered MIXIN Subsystem Version=0.8.5 Source=union:/C:/Users/Windows/AppData/Roaming/.minecraft/libraries/org/spongepowered/mixin/0.8.5/mixin-0.8.5.jar%23100!/ Service=ModLauncher Env=CLIENT FATAL ERROR in native method: Thread[pool-2-thread-1,5,main]: No context is current or a function that is not available in the current context was called. The JVM will abort execution.     at org.lwjgl.opengl.GL11C.nglGetString(org.lwjgl.opengl@3.3.1+7/Native Method)     at org.lwjgl.opengl.GL11C.glGetString(org.lwjgl.opengl@3.3.1+7/GL11C.java:978)     at net.minecraftforge.fml.earlydisplay.DisplayWindow.initRender(fmlearlydisplay@1.20.1-47.3.22/DisplayWindow.java:209)     at net.minecraftforge.fml.earlydisplay.DisplayWindow.lambda$start$5(fmlearlydisplay@1.20.1-47.3.22/DisplayWindow.java:292)     at net.minecraftforge.fml.earlydisplay.DisplayWindow$$Lambda$437/0x000001fab120a618.run(fmlearlydisplay@1.20.1-47.3.22/Unknown Source)     at java.util.concurrent.Executors$RunnableAdapter.call(java.base@17.0.12/Executors.java:539)     at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask.run(java.base@17.0.12/FutureTask.java:264)     at java.util.concurrent.ScheduledThreadPoolExecutor$ScheduledFutureTask.run(java.base@17.0.12/ScheduledThreadPoolExecutor.java:304)     at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor.runWorker(java.base@17.0.12/ThreadPoolExecutor.java:1136)     at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor$Worker.run(java.base@17.0.12/ThreadPoolExecutor.java:635)     at java.lang.Thread.run(java.base@17.0.12/Thread.java:842) Here I am! [VersionManager] Refreshing versions locally... [VersionManager] Versions has been refreshed (6 ms) [Launcher] Launcher exited. [Launcher] Minecraft closed with exit code: 1 flush now [Launcher] [Crash] Signature "Bad video drivers" matches! [Crash] Signature "Bad video drivers" matches! [Launcher] [Crash] Crash has been recognized! [Crash] Crash has been recognized! flush now
    • https://mclo.gs/9Byd16j Hi, I've had my BetterMC world for a couple days now (1.19.2 vers & Fabric loader) but recently whenever I try to open the profile the minecraft launcher crashes and provides this error code. I've checked both this forum and google and haven't found any similar problems or solution to my problem. I'm not the best at reading crash logs but I gathered that there's an issue with fabric possibly, so I re-downloaded the same one on the modpack, then the latest version for 1.19.2 fabric and the issue still occurred. What can I do now?
    • it works now but idk why lmao. i removed terrablender and it didnt work. i then left it for a couple of days and, when i came back, updated the mods that needed updating because "what's the worst that could happen". i then tried launching it and now it works. i genuenly have no clue what i did to make it work, othen than updating the mods. so, thanks for your help
  • Topics

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.