Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Posted

Hello, I have been working on a mod that generates blocks based on a given material, and I have ran into an issue that I am not sure about what causes it. After doing some testing I found out that my descriptionId's for my SignItems and WallSignBlocks are empty. Here is a log that prints the values of a few of the blocks that are used in the sign language provider case. Note that 'block' is the standing sign block.

[22:37:51] [main/INFO] [Ne.Dr.Al.da.cl.ATWLanguageProvider/]: Primary location: minecraft:oak_sign
[22:37:51] [main/INFO] [Ne.Dr.Al.da.cl.ATWLanguageProvider/]: Test location: test_block
[22:37:51] [main/INFO] [Ne.Dr.Al.da.cl.ATWLanguageProvider/]: RegistryObject location: minecraft:oak_sign
[22:37:51] [main/INFO] [Ne.Dr.Al.da.cl.ATWLanguageProvider/]: Block item: Block{minecraft:oak_sign}
[22:37:51] [main/INFO] [Ne.Dr.Al.da.cl.ATWLanguageProvider/]: Block Description: block.minecraft.oak_sign
[22:37:51] [main/INFO] [Ne.Dr.Al.da.cl.ATWLanguageProvider/]: Block as item: oak_sign
[22:37:51] [main/INFO] [Ne.Dr.Al.da.cl.ATWLanguageProvider/]: Block registry: minecraft:oak_sign
[22:37:51] [main/INFO] [Ne.Dr.Al.da.cl.ATWLanguageProvider/]: Primary location: minecraft:oak_sign
[22:37:51] [main/INFO] [Ne.Dr.Al.da.cl.ATWLanguageProvider/]: Test location: test_block
[22:37:51] [main/INFO] [Ne.Dr.Al.da.cl.ATWLanguageProvider/]: Match Found.
[22:37:51] [main/INFO] [Ne.Dr.Al.da.cl.ATWLanguageProvider/]: oak sign
[22:37:51] [main/INFO] [Ne.Dr.Al.da.cl.ATWLanguageProvider/]: Item id: minecraft:oak_sign
[22:37:51] [main/INFO] [Ne.Dr.Al.da.cl.ATWLanguageProvider/]: Item item: oak_sign
[22:37:51] [main/INFO] [Ne.Dr.Al.da.cl.ATWLanguageProvider/]: Item Description: 
[22:37:51] [main/INFO] [Ne.Dr.Al.da.cl.ATWLanguageProvider/]: Item as item: oak_sign
[22:37:51] [main/INFO] [Ne.Dr.Al.da.cl.ATWLanguageProvider/]: Item registry: minecraft:oak_sign
[22:37:51] [main/INFO] [Ne.Dr.Al.da.cl.ATWLanguageProvider/]: item Primary Location: minecraft:oak_sign
[22:37:51] [main/INFO] [Ne.Dr.Al.da.cl.ATWLanguageProvider/]: Wall Location: minecraft:oak_wall_sign
[22:37:51] [main/INFO] [Ne.Dr.Al.da.cl.ATWLanguageProvider/]: Wall id: minecraft:oak_wall_sign
[22:37:51] [main/INFO] [Ne.Dr.Al.da.cl.ATWLanguageProvider/]: Wall item: Block{minecraft:oak_wall_sign}
[22:37:51] [main/INFO] [Ne.Dr.Al.da.cl.ATWLanguageProvider/]: Wall Description: 
[22:37:51] [main/INFO] [Ne.Dr.Al.da.cl.ATWLanguageProvider/]: Wall as item: oak_sign
[22:37:51] [main/INFO] [Ne.Dr.Al.da.cl.ATWLanguageProvider/]: Wall registry: minecraft:oak_wall_sign

Here is the code that is used to create the sign blocks, items and tile entities:

ublic static RegistryObject<TileEntityType<ATWSignTileEntity>> createSignTileEntity(String blockname, SimpleModule module, ATWMaterial material, ItemGroup itemGroup){
        RegistryObject<Block> wall = createSignBlock(material.getName()+"_wall_sign",
                () -> new ATWWallSignBlock(AbstractBlock.Properties.of(Material.WOOD, material.getMaterialColor()).sound(SoundType.WOOD).harvestTool(ToolType.AXE).harvestLevel(0).strength(3.0F, 4.0F).noCollission().noOcclusion())
                , module.BLOCKS_REGISTRY);
        RegistryObject<Block> standing = createSignBlock(blockname,
                () -> new ATWStandingSignBlock(AbstractBlock.Properties.of(Material.WOOD, material.getMaterialColor()).sound(SoundType.WOOD).harvestTool(ToolType.AXE).harvestLevel(0).strength(3.0F, 4.0F).noCollission().noOcclusion())
                , module.BLOCKS_REGISTRY);
        createSignItem(blockname,itemGroup,module.ITEM_REGISTRY, standing, wall);
        cutout = wall;
        cutout = standing;
        RegistryObject<TileEntityType<ATWSignTileEntity>> sign = module.TILE_ENTITY_REGISTRY.register(blockname, () -> TileEntityType.Builder.of(ATWSignTileEntity::new,
                        standing.get(),
                        wall.get()
                ).build(null));
        return(sign);
    }
    public static void createSignItem(String name, ItemGroup tab, DeferredRegister<Item> ITEM_REGISTER, RegistryObject<Block> wall, RegistryObject<Block> standing)
    {
        ITEM_REGISTER.register(name,() -> new SignItem(new Item.Properties().stacksTo(16).tab(tab),standing.get(),wall.get()));
    }
    public static RegistryObject<Block> createSignBlock(String name, Supplier<? extends Block> supplier, DeferredRegister<Block> BLOCK_REGISTER)
    {
        RegistryObject<Block> block = BLOCK_REGISTER.register(name, supplier);
        return block;
    }

Github: https://github.com/StijnArts/All-The-Wood

Thanks in advance to anyone willing to take a look!

Posted

I don't think you explained this very well.

Its seems like you are saying some descriptor ids (which ones?) are blank in the resulting language file. You don't show the resulting file.

You are generating the language file in that ATWLanguageProvider.

Your log snippets doesn't show any blanks. Are these the ones that are blank in the file, they are all vanilla names?

Are they blank because your code is being passed wrong data, it is not being passed data or something else?

Boilerplate:

If you don't post your logs/debug.log we can't help you. For curseforge you need to enable the forge debug.log in its minecraft settings. You should also post your crash report if you have one.

If there is no error in the log file and you don't have a crash report then post the launcher_log.txt from the minecraft folder. Again for curseforge this will be in your curseforge/minecraft/Install

Large files should be posted to a file sharing site like https://gist.github.com  You should also read the support forum sticky post.

Posted

I just downloaded and ran your mod and now I can see the real problem. You have recursive death for your WallSignBlock.getDescriptionId()

Quote

java.lang.StackOverflowError: Initializing game
        at net.minecraft.item.BlockItem.getDescriptionId(BlockItem.java:184) ~[forge:?] {re:classloading}
        at net.minecraft.block.WallSignBlock.getDescriptionId(WallSignBlock.java:44) ~[forge:?] {re:classloading}
        at net.minecraft.item.BlockItem.getDescriptionId(BlockItem.java:184) ~[forge:?] {re:classloading}
        at net.minecraft.block.WallSignBlock.getDescriptionId(WallSignBlock.java:44) ~[forge:?] {re:classloading}
        at net.minecraft.item.BlockItem.getDescriptionId(BlockItem.java:184) ~[forge:?] {re:classloading}
        at net.minecraft.block.WallSignBlock.getDescriptionId(WallSignBlock.java:44) ~[forge:?] {re:classloading}
        at net.minecraft.item.BlockItem.getDescriptionId(BlockItem.java:184) ~[forge:?] {re:classloading}
        at net.minecraft.block.WallSignBlock.getDescriptionId(WallSignBlock.java:44) ~[forge:?] {re:classloading}
        at net.minecraft.item.BlockItem.getDescriptionId(BlockItem.java:184) ~[forge:?] {re:classloading}

The way this works in vanilla is that the StandingSignBlock and WallSignBlock both share the same SignItem.

The SignItem is linked to the StandingSignBlock which holds the description.

The WallSignBlock does 

this.asItem().getDescriptionId()

which is supposed to do the redirect to the StandingSignBlock via the item.

 

In your case this isn't working. There is something wrong with the way you are registering these blocks/items.

Your SignItem seems to be linked to the Wall block when it should be linked to the Standing version?

It is not obvious to me what you are doing wrong in your code though.

Boilerplate:

If you don't post your logs/debug.log we can't help you. For curseforge you need to enable the forge debug.log in its minecraft settings. You should also post your crash report if you have one.

If there is no error in the log file and you don't have a crash report then post the launcher_log.txt from the minecraft folder. Again for curseforge this will be in your curseforge/minecraft/Install

Large files should be posted to a file sharing site like https://gist.github.com  You should also read the support forum sticky post.

Posted

Spotted it, your parameters are in different orders

Quote

    public static void createSignItem(String name, ItemGroup tab, DeferredRegister<Item> ITEM_REGISTER, RegistryObject<Block> wall, RegistryObject<Block> standing)

    createSignItem(blockname,itemGroup,module.ITEM_REGISTRY, standing, wall);
 

 

Boilerplate:

If you don't post your logs/debug.log we can't help you. For curseforge you need to enable the forge debug.log in its minecraft settings. You should also post your crash report if you have one.

If there is no error in the log file and you don't have a crash report then post the launcher_log.txt from the minecraft folder. Again for curseforge this will be in your curseforge/minecraft/Install

Large files should be posted to a file sharing site like https://gist.github.com  You should also read the support forum sticky post.

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Announcements



  • Recently Browsing

    • No registered users viewing this page.
  • Posts

    • I see. I'm sure I tried again with a lower case word, a few times. I ended up doing the same thing as pixxy in the end. Is this beyond the scope of the admins to fix? Are they already aware of it, or should I use 'contact us' to post a ticket?
    • I’m working on a Manta Ray entity in MCreator using GeckoLib animations, and my goal is to have a looping (flip) animation that ends at −360°, then transitions seamlessly into a swim animation starting at 0°. However, every method I’ve tried—like quickly interpolating the angle, inserting a brief keyframe at 0°, or using a micro “bridge” animation—still causes a visible “flash” https://imgur.com/a/5ucjUb9 or "jump" when the rotation resets. I want a perfectly smooth motion from the flip’s final rotation to the swim’s initial rotation. If anyone has solved this in MCreator/GeckoLib, or found a better trick for handling the −360° →0° gap without a snap, I’d appreciate some advice ! P.S.- I cannot set swim to start at -360 because I would have the same issue but in reverse. Here's the custom LoopingAnimationGoal :   class LoopingAnimationGoal extends Goal { private final MantaRayEntity entity; private final int cooldownTime; private int animationTimer; private int cooldownTimer; // New boolean to prevent double calls private boolean isLoopingActive = false; public LoopingAnimationGoal(MantaRayEntity entity, int cooldownTime) { this.entity = entity; this.cooldownTime = cooldownTime; this.animationTimer = 0; this.cooldownTimer = 0; this.setFlags(EnumSet.of(Flag.MOVE, Flag.LOOK)); } @Override public boolean canUse() { System.out.println("[DEBUG] LoopingGoal canUse => cooldownTimer=" + cooldownTimer); if (cooldownTimer > 0) { cooldownTimer--; return false; } BlockPos entityPos = entity.blockPosition(); boolean canUse = entity.isWaterAbove(entityPos, 4); System.out.println("[DEBUG] LoopingGoal canUse => WATER " + (canUse ? "DETECTED" : "NOT DETECTED") + " at " + entityPos + ", returning " + canUse); return canUse; } @Override public void start() { entity.setAnimation("looping"); animationTimer = 63; isLoopingActive = true; System.out.println("[DEBUG] Looping animation STARTED. Timer=" + animationTimer + ", gameTime=" + entity.level().getGameTime()); } @Override public boolean canContinueToUse() { System.out.println("[DEBUG] LoopingGoal canContinueToUse => animationTimer=" + animationTimer); return animationTimer > 0; } @Override public void tick() { animationTimer--; System.out.println("[DEBUG] LoopingGoal TICK => animationTimer=" + animationTimer); // We stop ONLY if we are still looping if (animationTimer <= 0 && isLoopingActive) { System.out.println("[DEBUG] condition => animationTimer <= 0 && isLoopingActive"); stop(); } } @Override public void stop() { // Check if already stopped if (!isLoopingActive) { System.out.println("[DEBUG] stop() called again, but isLoopingActive = false. Doing nothing."); return; } System.out.println("[DEBUG] Looping STOP at tick=" + entity.level().getGameTime() + ", last known rotation=" + entity.getXRot() + "/" + entity.getYRot() + ", animationTimer=" + animationTimer); // Immediately switch to "swim" entity.setAnimation("swim"); // Reset cooldown cooldownTimer = cooldownTime; // Disable looping to prevent a second stop isLoopingActive = false; System.out.println("[DEBUG] Looping STOP => setAnimation('swim'), cooldownTimer=" + cooldownTimer); } }  
    • So is the intention of the crusher for ores meant to be used with a silk touch pickaxe or something? Cause that seems like too much effort just to profit off of the machine, when everything drops as raw materials now. Am I just missing something? 
  • Topics

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.