1.19.2 - Looking to modify a mod's loot table

Psistorm

I'm running a small server for some friends, and we run Dragon Mounts Legacy as part of our small selection of mods. We wanted to up the drop rate for the dragon eggs, and thus - total noob as far as creating datapacks/etc goes - I am now trying to find a way to modify the drop rates.

The github for the loot_modifier part of the mod is here:
https://github.com/Kay9Unit/Dragon-Mounts-Legacy/tree/master/src/generated/resources/data/dragonmounts/loot_modifiers/dragonmounts

And my question basically is: loot_modifier is a forge specific thing, but can I possibly run a datapack to override these modifications with my own? Or what would be the most straightforward way for me to basically control the drop rates for the eggs myself?

Yes, they are designed to be used in datapacks.

But the global loot modifiers are a bit subtle. They are additive by default, like tags. So it will run both the mod's and your loot modifier.

If you don't want this, you need a data/forge/loot_modifiers/global_loot_modifiers.json and use the "replace" option  to stop the mod's loot modifier from being run.

That's not something I have ever done, so I don't have an example.

See: https://forge.gemwire.uk/wiki/Dynamic_Loot_Modification#The_global_loot_modifiers.json for more details.

Boilerplate:

If you don't post your logs/debug.log we can't help you. For curseforge you need to enable the forge debug.log in its minecraft settings. You should also post your crash report if you have one.

If there is no error in the log file and you don't have a crash report then post the launcher_log.txt from the minecraft folder. Again for curseforge this will be in your curseforge/minecraft/Install

Large files should be posted to a file sharing site like https://gist.github.com  You should also read the support forum sticky post.