I need my 1.6.4 Non Gradle Dev Env Back

zanda268

I wanted a fresh start on my dev setup so I deleted my old forge setup and attempted to re-run the exact same zip I used to install it originally and what do you know, it now gives me a failed hash check error.  I imagine Lex Manos, in his utter insanity, decided to remove even the choice of allowing us to use the old setup. I have over 2 years of Java coding under my belt but I am new to modding and I used that code as a tutorial and to edit vanilla mechanics. So, my question is how can I edit Vanilla classes now? Before you all start yelling at me, as far as I know, I absolutely have to edit them in order to make my mod (e.g removing gravity through the EntityLivingBase.class). So:

1.  How/Can I get the old style environment back?

2. If not, how/can I edit vanilla classes now?

3. If not, how/can I edit vanilla mechanics then (e.g. EntityLivingBase.onUpdate())?

You can't use .965. They killed it somehow with the hash checker. It will not work no matter what you do and it really ticks me off.

Bytecode patching through ASM?

I'm experienced with Java, not modding. I would really appreciate it if you wouldn't mind explaining what exactly that is.

That makes sense if you are making a mod however I am making a mod-pack so that doesn't apply to me. Last question, did Lex Manos purposefully screw with the .965 build or is that really supposed to work? Because I really miss my old workspace.

You don't seem to understand. I am making the mods themselves so there is no question of incompatibility. Not only that, I am doing some MAJOR modification to core MC classes (Changing this from a mining game to a space game). Also,I would really rather not spend 2 weeks trying to learn how to inject code at run time. That is why the old setup is extremely preferable. Back to my point, is there anyway to get my hands on a working version of the old setup? Build .965 will not work as it fails on the hash check of the server.