[1.7.10] Not all Item/blocks have their own classes

whitephoenix

Big image warning, ~1080p

GWVqJ.jpg

Hey guys, I've been following MrCrayfish's modding tutorial (awesome for beginners) and upon completing all but the armor and compiling episodes I had a question. If you look at the picture in the spoiler above, you will see that in the variable definition section...

public static Item itemThing;
public static Block blockThing;
public static Item itemThingSoup;
public static Item itemBurntSoup;
public static Item thingSpear;
public static Item itemSpearHead;

I have added 1 Block and 5 Items to a fairly useless mod intended to get me into modding.

However, if you look at the package explorer on the left side, there are only three classes, which is a bit puzzling to me because nothing is significantly different between those with classes and those without.

I'm new to java so please be patient with me, but is there a way to easily generate classes for all my blocks and items? I tried doing it manually which didn't change my in-game item whatsoever. Sorry if I left anything important out, I'm thoroughly confused.

Feel free to ask if you need more info. Also, did I do this wrong or did I just leave out a step?

I am not being rude here, but this forum is not for Java-begginers. You have lack of exp with Java, not just modding.

Short response:

Class is just a "structure" which you can use to define new Objects (Item) that will use this class as a template.

Simpliest way I can explain. Please before getting into moddin you need to understand how objects work in Java and most basic concepts.

1.7.10 is no longer supported by forge, you are on your own.

Okay the most important rule in programming is that you need to look very carefully to ensure things are EXACTLY the same as you expect.