Overriding Entity's setInWeb method

ravand

Hello Forge Community,

I am pretty new to modding in minecraft and starting to get a bit into the forge API so bare with me:

What i want to do is removing the Entity slow property when a player is inside a cobweb by overriding the setInWeb() method from the Entity class. My problem is, that i haven't figured out a way to actually make use over the overriden method of the super class and at this point im not even sure if it is possible without using ASM.

What i've got so far:

public class WebSlow extends Entity{

public WebSlow(World p_i1582_1_) {
	super(p_i1582_1_);
}
@Override
    public void setInWeb()
    {
        this.isInWeb = false;
    }
@Override
protected void entityInit() {		
}
@Override
protected void readEntityFromNBT(NBTTagCompound p_70037_1_) {	
}
@Override
protected void writeEntityToNBT(NBTTagCompound p_70014_1_) {		
}

I will probably need a way to constantly set field "isInWeb" to false (which the setInWeb() method does) but i haven't found any onPlayerMove events or anything similiar, i have tried it with the "EntityJoinWorld" event but that didn't work out.

Is what im trying to do the right approach, is there any other way to prevent the web slow or is the use of ASM inevitable?

I would appreciate any suggestions to solve my little mod problem.

Thans in advance

First of all, what kind of entity are you making? Or are you trying to do this to all entities?

You're extending entity, but if you really wanted to do this for a mob or living entity you need to extend the proper subclass, like EntityMob or whatever. But extending is for making your own entity -- is that what you want to do, or do you want behavior of vanilla entities to change?

Basically I'm saying that extending a class is used for making something new, in this case a new entity.

Check out my tutorials here: http://jabelarminecraft.blogspot.com/