[1.8] [CLOSED] Get the actual location of the mod's 'assets' folder.

mGamer426

Hello!

I'm kind of new in modding and I would like to know one thing. I'm making a mod for 1.8 and I want to make model creating (you know, writing all those .json files) a bit easier.

I want to make a model maker! I've already made a little preview of it, but there's one thing missing. Get the location of the assets folder, and inside of it, the models/item or models/block folder.

I'm working in the IntellijIDEA IDE and it is possible to do this by creating a separate module in the whole modding project, and set up a custom application launch, where it launches the model maker module before Minecraft runs. Because it's a separate module, it can easily reference the directories in the source folder. But after a good bit of time it is kind of annoying that every time I launch Minecraft the model maker runs, and it's not even needed. I think it is possible to implement all of this into the mod and get the assets folder location while Minecraft is running. Any ideas how to do this?

Why wouldn't you output to a different folder? Create an output location that you want and access it with an IResourcePack. This will also allow you to 'hotswap' (guessing you'll have to force the ResourceManagers to reload unless you're feeling rather fancy) models in an out with something like a whitelist for the file contents (contained models).

I don't really see the merits of a secondary application launch, either wrap it up inside of a gui in minecraft or create a standalone, as you've mentioned dual launching applications is a PITA

I think its my java of the variables.

Do you mean you want to read from the existing models, or do you want to write your new model to that location? Also, are you talking about models for entities, or for blocks and items?