Execution failed for ':decompileMc' - GC overhead limit exceeded

Jay Avery

I'm trying to set up Forge for the first time. When I run the command

gradlew setupDecompWorkspace

, I end up with this error:

FAILURE: Build failed with an exception.

* What went wrong:
Execution failed for task ':decompileMc'.
> GC overhead limit exceeded

I've done loads of googling for solutions and tried a bunch of things, but none of them have worked so far. I followed the instructions on this tutorial to increase the RAM, I added the JAVA_HOME variable and ran the special command as described here, still the same error keeps happening.

I am a total newbie to modding and to this forum. Sorry if I've broken any rules or done something silly, but please don't just throw a bunch of jargon at me with no explanation because it won't help!

I created a text file called "gradle.properties" in the same folder as the gradlew.bat file. In the text file I wrote the line "org.gradle.jvmargs=-Xmx4096M" (I experimented variously with 2G, 4G, 2048M, none making much difference - 4096M was just my most recent attempt).

:) I made the same mistake as you did.

Place that file in your home folder/.gradle

So if your now would be John, that would probably be C:\Users\John

I tried that too! But I followed a Forge tutorial that told me to copy-paste the files from the downloaded zip into a folder in my documents that I could easily access - rather than using an installer that made folders itself. Should I try deleting the files that I copy-pasted from the downloaded zip, and instead download a version that uses an installer?