[1.12.2] Model rotation to 16 values without TESR?

IceMetalPunk

I'd like to have a block model rotate at 16 different rotations, like signs; but I don't want to have a TESR because I don't want this block to have a tile entity (for various reasons). It seems the block state and model files can only specify rotations in increments of 90 degrees, meaning only 4 possible rotations, not 16. What's the best way to go about making this work? (Note: I already have the block state set like signs with a 16-integer ROTATION property, and that all works fine; it's just the model I need help with.)

I thought briefly about creating 16 textures, each one rotated by 22.5 degrees, and overriding the model's texture using Forge's blockstate format; but I'm no artist, so it's well beyond my abilities to rotate an image 22.5 degrees without introducing massive blur. That's why I'd like to do the rotations programmatically, somehow, if at all possible. I just can't seem to find a way to do that?

What's the best way to get this done?

Whatever Minecraft needs, it is most likely not yet another tool tier.

You can use B3D or OBJ models for this, though you will require  one model for each state (which will bloat your mods filesize)

You can also create an ICustomModelLoader, which loads a custom (dummy) IModel, which loads an IBakedModel. This is where you can get access to the blockstate, and in IBakedModel::getQuads, create a list of BakedQuads, which determines how to render what.
You're gonna have to get the default non-rotated model, get it's quads, rotate them, and return that. As for how you're going to rotate them, you can look in TRSRTransformation how vanilla handles 90 degree angles, or look up other sources.