Forge and Minecraft's EULA

mehrcraft

I am very confused by Minecraft's EULA as it relates to mods.  It states that you can't profit in any way from mods, but there are obvious signs that it is not quite so, as virtually every mod download goes through something like AdFly and so many modders ask for donations on Patreon.

So, it seems that the real question is "how do you profit from mods without violating the EULA?"

Also, since most modders seem to prefer Forge, the most successful mods that have not been abandoned after a few years are Forge mods, and Forge seems to operate through a standard interface to the Minecraft code instead of by modifying the code itself... it leads me to suspect that Forge was designed to allow profiting without violating the EULA.

Am I guessing correctly?  Are there basic principles or maybe a guide on how to do it safely?

I ask because I am an experienced Java developer, loved Minecraft since Beta, and I would like to create AND properly support mods, but without a steady income (obviously assuming the mods are successful) it is obvious that I would sooner or later get bored and abandon any mod I wrote... so I don't see much point in nodding unless this was viable.

Paragraph before last of the section "Using our game".

Am I misreading it?  Are you saying that making a Forge mod and earning income through ads and patreon is NOT a violation of the EULA?  That is what I suspected and hoped for, and the reason for this post.

if yes, is there a source of advice on how to do it without getting in legal trouble?

Also, assuming that I were able to design a mod that got millions of downloads and promoted it correctly... would I be able to live on that income?

Edited by mehrcraft

TLDR: We live in Mojang's good graces and legal grey areas. Forge is not `designed to allow profiting` It was designed too help people not violate the EULA's 'dont distribute our stuff' part.