Block Entity recipes not working

BlueFFlame

Hello!

I'm writing a Minecraft based on tech and machines, and I'm making a furnace-esque machine for processing ores. However, I can't seem to get the recipes to work. Whenever I put the ore into the slot, nothing happens. I added the inventory property to the watchlist and it showed that it was detecting the block in the right slot, but for some reason its not triggering crafting. I'm at a loss right now. Please note that I am new to modding, and I followed a tutorial for this code, so I don't really know code conventions yet. 

Also, there's no crashes at all. No errors thrown. It just doesn't do anything.

Below is some of the associated code:

1) The .json files for the recipes

{
  "type": "darkcollective:ore_refining",
  "ingredients": [
    {
      "item": "darkcollective:aernium_ore"
    }
  ],
  "output": {
    "count": 2,
    "item": "darkcollective:aernium_ingot"
  }
}

2) The code in the OreRefineryEntityClass that looks for the recipe and, if found, starts the crafting

private boolean hasRecipe() {
        Optional<OreRefineryRecipe> recipe = getCurrentRecipe();

System.out.println(recipe);

if(recipe.isEmpty()) {
            return false;
        }
        ItemStack result = recipe.get().getResultItem(getLevel().registryAccess());

return canInsertAmountIntoOutputSlot(result.getCount()) && canInsertItemIntoOutputSlot(result.getItem());
    }

private Optional<OreRefineryRecipe> getCurrentRecipe() {
        SimpleContainer inventory = new SimpleContainer(this.itemHandler.getSlots());
        for(int i = 0; i < itemHandler.getSlots(); i++) {
            inventory.setItem(i, this.itemHandler.getStackInSlot(i));
        }

return this.level.getRecipeManager().getRecipeFor(OreRefineryRecipe.Type.INSTANCE, inventory, level);
    }

3) The code for the RecipeSerializer.

public static class Serializer implements RecipeSerializer<OreRefineryRecipe>{

public static final Serializer INSTANCE = new Serializer();