Custom Fluid Help

broede

Greetings all, I've been modding with Forge for about a month or two now and I have been writing plugins for a few months longer than that.  I've recently decided to add a customized fluid called "sludge" to my mod-in-progress.  Now, I think I've registered everything okay.  The texture works, it loads, I can pour the fluid into the world, it spreads and what-not just fine.  I even have a custom MaterialLiquid for it.

My problem -- how do I get it to behave like water when it comes to interacting with entities?  i.e. pushback on flow, drowning, enable swimming, etc?  It currently just behaves like a gas.  Where do I begin searching for information about adding liquid behaviors?

Thank you in advance and happy coding to you all!

You would have to make your fluid use Material.water

All entities check for Material.water for water-behavior (drowning, swimming, etc.)

(pro-tip: you can't drown in lava)

Apparently I'm a complete and utter jerk and come to this forum just like to make fun of people, be confrontational, and make your personal life miserable.  If you think this is the case, JUST REPORT ME.  Otherwise you're just going to get reported when you reply to my posts and point it out, because odds are, I was trying to be nice.

Exception: If you do not understand Java, I WILL NOT HELP YOU and your thread will get locked.

DO NOT PM ME WITH PROBLEMS. No help will be given.

Won't that cause a conflict when doing bucket fill events?  (i.e. clicking a sludge block with Material.Water turn it into a bucket of water)  And would I still be able to add custom effects from custom fluids a-la the burning effect from lava?