NBT Simulation

EducationalPurposes

Hello community,

I am currently making a framework for the mod called "ComputerCraft." You dont have to know what it is to answer my question, since it is NBT related.

So, I know how I can use NBT with the TileEntity's. That is not the issue at all, I am more interested in how the NBT gets saved. I couldnt find the source code to the classes/package(s) which actually save the NBT. Im interested in that, because I need to simulate the NBT without a TileEntity, and to do that I need the code on how to save the NBT. I am going to make my own file of course and probably remake that system to not really get copyright shizzle :P

So, where can I find that code?

Thank you in advance,

- EducationalPurposes

I am fairly new to Java and modding, so my answers are not always 100% correct. Sorry for that!

Yeah I know NBT is a data format, I guess I didnt formulate it properly.

Since I posted this topic, I ironically found the class you mentioned. It definitely will help, but since Im getting into creating my own NBT file (I guess that is the proper way to formulate it), I also want to see what calls TileEntity.readFromNBT & TileEntity.writeToNBT. That way I can see how minecraft does it, and maybe I can add my own twist to that (though I doubt that, why wouldnt the mc class wouldnt perfect for it? I will see what Im going to do with it).

So, thanks Diesieben for the quick help already! :)

My other question, which is the final question in this topic for me, is: from what classes are TileEntity.readFromNBT & TileEntity.writeToNBT getting called? If I know that, then I can do it, since I can look up the imports and such etc.

Thank you in advance for the help (again :P)

- EducationalPurposes

I am fairly new to Java and modding, so my answers are not always 100% correct. Sorry for that!

From one of my projects

String s="someFileName";
File rendersFolder = new File(DimensionManager.getCurrentSaveRootDirectory(), "LinkRenders");