[1.7.2] Syncing inventory server side

benjibobs

First up, I'd like to apologise as this question likely has an extremely simple and stupid answer, but I've been stuck with this for hours.

I am currently developing a mod which uses a Timer in order to remove one durability per second. After a few teething problems, I've got this to work perfectly, and it damages the item of one use per second whilst certain conditions are met. The class which I use for the TimerTask can be seen here.

The references "rge.shouldRepair" are from here.

The problem I seem to be having is whenever I click on the gem in my inventory whilst debugging, it's state resets to before any damage was taken and also any damage was repaired. I've narrowed this down to the server's version of my inventory overriding my (the client's) version, however I am clueless about how to counter this.

I'd assume it has something to do with packets, but I'm not very experienced with packets so I can't say I've tried much there. This is because the server's version of my inventory does not contain the changed damage values.

Any and all help appreciated :P And apologies for the terrible coding layout, it's just my style ;)

PS. I've tried inv.markDirty();, but it had no effect because this is for tile entities such as chests.

You can find my github repo here :D

You can remove Client-Server sync problem by damaging item only on the Server-side.

Do not use Minecraft.getMinecraft(), since that is for Client-side.

Instead, Just use EntityJoinWorldEvent to start the timer, and store the player in the timer.

I. Stellarium for Minecraft: Configurable Universe for Minecraft! (WIP)

II. Stellar Sky, Better Star Rendering&Sky Utility mod, had separated from Stellarium.

You can remove Client-Server sync problem by damaging item only on the Server-side.

Instead, Just use EntityJoinWorldEvent to start the timer, and store the player in the timer.