[1.7.10] How can i make an item behave like a tool?

RYxINATORx314

I am wondering how to make an item behave like a tool, like have durability, be repairable via anvil, and cause damage like a sword? How can i accomplish such a task? Any and all help is appreciated, and I am new to modding so if you could show some sort of example code that would be wonderful.

Thanks in advance!

Its real easy, but takes a few steps.

Durability, in your constructor:

setMaxStackSize(1);
setMaxDamage(128);

This prevents two copies from stacking on top of each other and tells the system how much durability the item has.

Repair:

@Override
public boolean getIsRepairable(ItemStack par1ItemStack, ItemStack par2ItemStack) {
}

Overrideing this function allows you to set custom repair options.  par2ItemStack is the repairing object (the iron ingot, etc.)

The default method may be sufficient if you're using standard materials (just make sure that your item has the tool material that is appropriate)

Damage:

This is the simplest way is to use the tool material.  Otherwise,

@Override
public Multimap getAttributeModifiers(ItemStack itemStack) {
    Multimap multimap = super.getAttributeModifiers(itemStack);
    multimap.put(SharedMonsterAttributes.attackDamage.getAttributeUnlocalizedName(), new AttributeModifier(field_111210_e, "Weapon modifier", (double)this.weaponDamage, 0));//replace this.weaponDamage with the value desired
    return multimap;
}

Apparently I'm a complete and utter jerk and come to this forum just like to make fun of people, be confrontational, and make your personal life miserable.  If you think this is the case, JUST REPORT ME.  Otherwise you're just going to get reported when you reply to my posts and point it out, because odds are, I was trying to be nice.

Exception: If you do not understand Java, I WILL NOT HELP YOU and your thread will get locked.

DO NOT PM ME WITH PROBLEMS. No help will be given.