Possible Rendering Bug?

GVmG

So, I am working on a mod and I can say I have some decent experience with java, but while experimenting with my custom renderer, I ran into a problem.

Everything works perfectly, it renders exactly a it's supposed to do, but there's a little... thing, that I think could be a bug.

I'm not sure if it's a bug in Minecraft, Forge or even Java itself. It may be any of these.

Now, straight to what the problem is:

I have declared the entity (registered it) and the renderer. Then I wanted to make a variation of that entity, rendered with the same renderer as they have to do basically the same thing.

First, let me show you how my entities "parented".

Entity>EntityThrowable>EntityBomb - this is a bomb. The renderer for this works well.

Entity>EntityThrowable>EntityBomb>EntityStckyBomb - this bomb is sticky. The renderer works but uses the EntityBomb texture.

Now, the sticky bomb extends the normal bomb and just stops when something is touched. It has a custom Icon (the item has one), but it is drawn wth the default icon.

It also draws like a normal bomb (keeps bouncing around after it has sticked), but it explodes where it's supposed to be stuck. //note that this may be a problem on my part.

The problem is that when it renders, it uses the default ItemBomb texture instead of its own.

Now, this may seem like a problem with my mod, but here comes the thing that made me think it's not my fault.

I tried to "clone" EntityBomb, and the bomb item launches the clone (which is just a bunch of inherited events). The result was the same. I tried setting the renderer for the new bomb clone and for the sticky bomb, ignoring the main bomb entity, but that leads to the default rendering (a white block).

Then I tried implementing a method that returns a ResourceLocation with the custom texture, but it doesn't seem to be called.

Looks like the renderer can't render entities that aren't direct childs of vanilla entities (like EntityThrower).