1.8 Pipes

Noxyper

Alrighty then!

So, for my mod I want to implement pipes to carry steam from a boiler to other machines. But I'm having some trouble. Maybe I am jumping straight into this, but I'm an okay programmer. I can the basics: armor, items, guis, mobs. But now I want to move on to the more advanced stuff! So, here's the deal. I'll be posting on this post everytime I run into trouble and maybe you guys could help? So my first problem is how to make these pipes connect to one another. I looked at the redstone code, but that just messes with my head.

So, just to recap, my first problem is how do I make my pipes change state and connect to each other?

Thank you!

Hyp3r

I have a basic implementation of a pipe-like block here (blockstates file).

I use some Java 8 features like streams and lambdas in the code, you'll have to adapt it if you're not compiling against Java 8.

I haven't got the bounding boxes working, but the pipes know they're connected to each other and render the model properly.

Since your pipe block will likely have a

TileEntity

, you may want to cache the connection state in it (like BuildCraft pipes do) and make

Block#getActualState

return the values from that rather than checking each neighbouring block.

Please don't PM me to ask for help. Asking your question in a public thread preserves it for people who are having the same problem in the future.

Just so that I haven't wasted my time, I have to make .json files for all the different ways the pipe can connect, right? But 1 blockstate. That is how Mojang did with the redstone so I'm just assuming...

Look at the blockstates file I linked. It only uses two models (centre cube + side connection) but uses Forge's blockstates format to combine them as needed.

Please don't PM me to ask for help. Asking your question in a public thread preserves it for people who are having the same problem in the future.

So how do I go about making the pipe part? How would that look like?