How can I make 24 rotation states of block across blockstate?

alexfadeev

Hi!

First of all: I'm not a programmer at all. I just have a one task for myself and I need to resolve it.

And sorry for my English.

So. I try to add a block in world, which can set in all 24 states of rotation. I hope, you understand what I mean.

I try to do this cross the blockstate property. I think — it is most easy way. But I have 2 properties: Facing (UP, DOWN, NORTH, EAST, SOUTH, WEST) and BINDING (LEFT_TOP, LEFT_BOTTOM, RIGHT_TOP, RIGHT_BOTTOM). That in turn gives you 24 different state.

I know that blockstate it is just 4 bit and it have 16 state variations.

So, my question. How can I resolve this problem? Maybe somebody have ready-made solution or some topics, where I can read about multiple state of blocks? How can I make 24 states for my block?

Thanks for you help.

If I understand your 24 states:

1) I can choose one of six faces to face me

2) I can then reach out, grip that face and dial it to choose one of its four adjacent faces to face UP. If I were holding a face with an arrow printed on it, I could point the arrow UP, RIGHT, DOWN or LEFT.

If your game purpose really needs to retain all of that information, then you do indeed have more states than can be kept in metadata. You'll need a TE as d7 suggested. If game effect really only hinges on one face (or allows you to calculate some of your data from neighbors like walls and fences do), then you can avoid the TE. If calculable, getActualState is where you'd do so.

What are you trying to do?

The debugger is a powerful and necessary tool in any IDE, so learn how to use it. You'll be able to tell us more and get better help here if you investigate your runtime problems in the debugger before posting.