[19.3] Example code.

Jontom Xire

I am new to Minecraft modding. The Forge documentation mentions there being examples of code somewhere, but I cannot find them. I also find the Forge documentation lacking in sufficient detail. There is a lot of implicit knowledge. After half a day of tearing my hair out, I finally managed to implement a simple key mapping of a single key.

To help new modders, I have provided a simple fully working code example of implementing a key mapping at https://gitlab.com/JontomXire/minecraft-forge-1.19.3-examples. I intend to extend this in due course with other examples. I would be grateful for all code examples that other people could provide. The criteria for acceptance are:

1. Minimum code example. No need to include all the gradle stuff, just the build.gradle and anything under src. Try to base it on the example mod code included in the Forge MDK.
  2. Must build. All examples must be full and complete to compile without the user having to do anything other than copy in all the gradle stuff from the Forge MDK.
  3. Must run. All examples must work with nothing more than copying the JAR file into  the mods folder of a clean installation, and then running that installation. It must be possible for the user to see the mod working, even if that requires checking the debug.log file.

Edited by Jontom Xire
Fixed hyperlink.

9 hours ago, Jontom Xire said:

I also find the Forge documentation lacking in sufficient detail.

Please provide a detailed explanation on what is lacking in the Forge documentation. I do strive to make it understandable for those who know how to program Java and provide references where it needs to be. As such, if something is lacking, I would like to know exactly what so that I may address and fix it.

Before I start, I want to make it clear that I appreciate how much hard work has gone into the official Forge documentation. That said...

There are many examples where it is lacking in sufficient detail: