Jump to content

Strange Biome Generation


DanilaFE

Recommended Posts

So I made a custom biome, the most basic one, and tried to make a custom top block.

First I tried with the custom block I made, it crashed. Then I tried with another custom block I made, and it generated a biome full of tripwire hooks. Finally, I tried manually defining the ID and got a biome with a lot of...

Potato crops.

I'm using this.topBlock = (byte)MyMainClass.MyCustomBlock.blockID

Help please!

“Since when did you start modding?”

“Last night"

Link to comment
Share on other sites

The final vanilla ID is 173, for a block of coal. You CAN use any block ID higher than that but before 256, but it may cause conflicts with other mods. Remember, most blocks don't need to be that low! My best idea would be to make only the blocks in the biome that low, and then make sure that you have a config file for those blocks to pick any one of the exceedingly limited number of slots that might be available.

 

On reading up a bit: since biome blocks are stored as bytes, they absolutely must have IDs under 256. Otherwise, they begin to count negative and the kinds of problems you are having start to show up.

 

In summary: Pick an ID between 173 and 256 and make sure it's configurable to resolve conflicts with other mods.

 

Hope that helps!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Alrighty! Thanks for the info!

EDIT

Nope. My block has the Id if 177, and the game crashes, due to a

 

 

java.lang.ExceptionInInitializerError
2013-12-08 20:35:10 [iNFO] [sTDOUT] 	at java.lang.Class.forName0(Native Method)
2013-12-08 20:35:10 [iNFO] [sTDOUT] 	at java.lang.Class.forName(Class.java:249)
2013-12-08 20:35:10 [iNFO] [sTDOUT] 	at cpw.mods.fml.common.FMLModContainer.constructMod(FMLModContainer.java:462)
2013-12-08 20:35:10 [iNFO] [sTDOUT] 	at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
2013-12-08 20:35:10 [iNFO] [sTDOUT] 	at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(NativeMethodAccessorImpl.java:39)
2013-12-08 20:35:10 [iNFO] [sTDOUT] 	at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.java:25)
2013-12-08 20:35:10 [iNFO] [sTDOUT] 	at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Method.java:597)
2013-12-08 20:35:10 [iNFO] [sTDOUT] 	at com.google.common.eventbus.EventHandler.handleEvent(EventHandler.java:74)
2013-12-08 20:35:10 [iNFO] [sTDOUT] 	at com.google.common.eventbus.SynchronizedEventHandler.handleEvent(SynchronizedEventHandler.java:45)
2013-12-08 20:35:10 [iNFO] [sTDOUT] 	at com.google.common.eventbus.EventBus.dispatch(EventBus.java:313)
2013-12-08 20:35:10 [iNFO] [sTDOUT] 	at com.google.common.eventbus.EventBus.dispatchQueuedEvents(EventBus.java:296)
2013-12-08 20:35:10 [iNFO] [sTDOUT] 	at com.google.common.eventbus.EventBus.post(EventBus.java:267)
2013-12-08 20:35:10 [iNFO] [sTDOUT] 	at cpw.mods.fml.common.LoadController.sendEventToModContainer(LoadController.java:201)
2013-12-08 20:35:10 [iNFO] [sTDOUT] 	at cpw.mods.fml.common.LoadController.propogateStateMessage(LoadController.java:181)
2013-12-08 20:35:10 [iNFO] [sTDOUT] 	at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
2013-12-08 20:35:10 [iNFO] [sTDOUT] 	at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(NativeMethodAccessorImpl.java:39)
2013-12-08 20:35:10 [iNFO] [sTDOUT] 	at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.java:25)
2013-12-08 20:35:10 [iNFO] [sTDOUT] 	at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Method.java:597)
2013-12-08 20:35:10 [iNFO] [sTDOUT] 	at com.google.common.eventbus.EventHandler.handleEvent(EventHandler.java:74)
2013-12-08 20:35:10 [iNFO] [sTDOUT] 	at com.google.common.eventbus.SynchronizedEventHandler.handleEvent(SynchronizedEventHandler.java:45)
2013-12-08 20:35:10 [iNFO] [sTDOUT] 	at com.google.common.eventbus.EventBus.dispatch(EventBus.java:313)
2013-12-08 20:35:10 [iNFO] [sTDOUT] 	at com.google.common.eventbus.EventBus.dispatchQueuedEvents(EventBus.java:296)
2013-12-08 20:35:10 [iNFO] [sTDOUT] 	at com.google.common.eventbus.EventBus.post(EventBus.java:267)
2013-12-08 20:35:10 [iNFO] [sTDOUT] 	at cpw.mods.fml.common.LoadController.distributeStateMessage(LoadController.java:112)
2013-12-08 20:35:10 [iNFO] [sTDOUT] 	at cpw.mods.fml.common.Loader.loadMods(Loader.java:511)
2013-12-08 20:35:10 [iNFO] [sTDOUT] 	at cpw.mods.fml.client.FMLClientHandler.beginMinecraftLoading(FMLClientHandler.java:183)
2013-12-08 20:35:10 [iNFO] [sTDOUT] 	at net.minecraft.client.Minecraft.startGame(Minecraft.java:473)
2013-12-08 20:35:10 [iNFO] [sTDOUT] 	at net.minecraft.client.Minecraft.run(Minecraft.java:808)
2013-12-08 20:35:10 [iNFO] [sTDOUT] 	at net.minecraft.client.main.Main.main(Main.java:93)
2013-12-08 20:35:10 [iNFO] [sTDOUT] 	at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
2013-12-08 20:35:10 [iNFO] [sTDOUT] 	at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(NativeMethodAccessorImpl.java:39)
2013-12-08 20:35:10 [iNFO] [sTDOUT] 	at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.java:25)
2013-12-08 20:35:10 [iNFO] [sTDOUT] 	at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Method.java:597)
2013-12-08 20:35:10 [iNFO] [sTDOUT] 	at net.minecraft.launchwrapper.Launch.launch(Launch.java:131)
2013-12-08 20:35:10 [iNFO] [sTDOUT] 	at net.minecraft.launchwrapper.Launch.main(Launch.java:27)
2013-12-08 20:35:10 [iNFO] [sTDOUT] Caused by: java.lang.NullPointerException
2013-12-08 20:35:10 [iNFO] [sTDOUT] 	at mods.danilafe.frozenworld.BiomeGenFrozen.<init>(BiomeGenFrozen.java:11)
2013-12-08 20:35:10 [iNFO] [sTDOUT] 	at mods.danilafe.frozenworld.FrozenWorld.<clinit>(FrozenWorld.java:78)

“Since when did you start modding?”

“Last night"

Link to comment
Share on other sites

but I've heard that anything over the low 200's or so

 

256 and up won't work.  Because the vanilla terrain generators deal with block IDs as a byte.

Apparently I'm a complete and utter jerk and come to this forum just like to make fun of people, be confrontational, and make your personal life miserable.  If you think this is the case, JUST REPORT ME.  Otherwise you're just going to get reported when you reply to my posts and point it out, because odds are, I was trying to be nice.

 

Exception: If you do not understand Java, I WILL NOT HELP YOU and your thread will get locked.

 

DO NOT PM ME WITH PROBLEMS. No help will be given.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If you post your code, particularly the lines specified in the log, we may be able to help more.

Main Class with unimportant things cropped out:

 

public static final String modID = "FrozenWorld";
public static final int FrozenBiomeDirtID = 177;
//Creating the Forge instance
@Instance(value = "FrozenWorld")
public static FrozenWorld instance;
//Says where client and server proxy files are located
@SidedProxy(clientSide="mods.danilafe.frozenworld.client.ClientProxy",serverSide="mods.danilafe.frozenworld.common.CommonProxy")
public static mods.danilafe.frozenworld.common.CommonProxy proxy;
@EventHandler 
    public void preInit(FMLPreInitializationEvent event) {
         }
public static BiomeGenBase frozenBiome = new BiomeGenFrozen(45).setBiomeName("frozenBiome").setEnableSnow().setMinMaxHeight(-1F, 1F).setTemperatureRainfall(0.3F, 0.5F);
public static Block FrozenBiomeDirt = new FrozenBiomeDirt(FrozenBiomeDirtID, Material.ground).setCreativeTab(CreativeTabs.tabBlock).setUnlocalizedName("FrozenBiomeDirt");
@EventHandler
public void preInit(FMLInitializationEvent event){

	GameRegistry.registerBlock(FrozenBiomeDirt, "FrozenBiomeDirt");
	GameRegistry.addBiome(frozenBiome);
	LanguageRegistry.addName(FrozenBiomeDirt, "Dirt");

}
@EventHandler 
    public void load(FMLInitializationEvent event) {
            proxy.registerRenderers();
    }
 @EventHandler
     public void postInit(FMLPostInitializationEvent event) {
             // Stub Method
 }

}

 

And my BiomeGenFrozen:

 

public BiomeGenFrozen(int id) {
	super(id);
	this.topBlock = (byte)FrozenWorld.FrozenBiomeDirt.blockID; //<——Causes the crash

}

“Since when did you start modding?”

“Last night"

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Announcements



  • Recently Browsing

    • No registered users viewing this page.
  • Posts

    • So I saw that mixin is shipped as a library with forge, but is it available for 1.7.10 ?  
    • So I've read the EULA, and lets be straight...     If I split my modpack(of my mods, yeah I'm nuts) into several(many) individual mods(like just one boss) with minor additions(plus not working together), then have a complete/modpack version on patreon/onlyfans having each addon work together... Would people buy my idea?
    • German A1 – C1, TestDAF, Goethe B1, B2, C1, C2, valid GOETHE certificate German A1 – C1, TestDAF, Goethe B1, B2, C1, C2, valid GOETHE certificate(+27(838-80-8170
    • Done, it still crashed. New log https://paste.ee/p/kYv6e
    • I am migrating a mod from 1.16.5 to 1.20.2 The version for 1.16.5 can be found here https://github.com/beothorn/automataCraft For the block called automata_start, it uses TileEntities and has blockstates, model/block and textures on json files. This is currently working fine on 1.16.5 https://github.com/beothorn/automataCraft/tree/master/src/main/resources/assets/automata For 1.20.2 I migrated the logic from TileEntities to BlockEntity. The mod is working fine. All blocks and Items are working with the correct textures except for the textures for each state of the automata_start block. No changes where made to the json files. This is the branch I am working on (there were some refactorings, but all is basically the same): https://github.com/beothorn/automataCraft/tree/1_20/src/main/resources/assets/automata The only difference I can think that may be related is that i had to implement createBlockStateDefinition on the BaseEntityBlock: https://github.com/beothorn/automataCraft/blob/1_20/src/main/java/br/com/isageek/automata/automata/AutomataStartBlock.java#L43 This is driving me crazy. I know the jsons are being loaded as I put a breakpoint at `net.minecraft.client.resources.model.ModelBakery#loadModel` and I can see BlockModelDefinition.fromJsonElement being called with automata_start. I also printed the state from the arguments of the tick function call and they look correct (https://github.com/beothorn/automataCraft/blob/1_20/src/main/java/br/com/isageek/automata/automata/Ticker.java#L32 ): blockState Block{automata:automata_start}[state=loadreplaceables] In game, all I see is the no textures. I think it is weird it is not the "missing texture" texture so I think it may be related to the material, but I had no success tweaking it (https://github.com/beothorn/automataCraft/blob/1_20/src/main/java/br/com/isageek/automata/automata/AutomataStartBlock.java#L37).   public static final Property<AutomataStartState> state = EnumProperty.create("state", AutomataStartState.class); private final AtomicReference<RegistryObject<BlockEntityType<?>>> blockEntityType; private final Map<String, RegistryObject<Block>> registeredBlocks; public AutomataStartBlock( final AtomicReference<RegistryObject<BlockEntityType<?>>> blockEntityType, final Map<String, RegistryObject<Block>> registeredBlocks ) { super(BlockBehaviour.Properties.of().mapColor(MapColor.STONE).strength(1.5F, 6.0F)); this.blockEntityType = blockEntityType; this.registeredBlocks = registeredBlocks; this.registerDefaultState(this.getStateDefinition().any().setValue(state, AutomataStartState.LOAD_REPLACEABLES)); } @Override protected void createBlockStateDefinition(StateDefinition.Builder<Block, BlockState> stateBuilder) { stateBuilder.add(state); }     So my cry for help is, anyone has any ideas? Is there a way to easily debug this, for example somewhere where I can list the textures for a given state, or make sure this is loaded?   Thanks in advance for the hints
  • Topics

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.