[1.7.10] Help with status effects and items!

Dr_Derpy

So I'm coding a sort of medicine mod, and I'm trying to make my Ibuprofen item give a "Painkiller Sickness" after using it once, and if it is used again during the time of the status effect, the player dies, or takes massive amounts of damage. I'm new to the whole Java coding thing, so any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Java != JavaScript

Apparently I'm a complete and utter jerk and come to this forum just like to make fun of people, be confrontational, and make your personal life miserable.  If you think this is the case, JUST REPORT ME.  Otherwise you're just going to get reported when you reply to my posts and point it out, because odds are, I was trying to be nice.

Exception: If you do not understand Java, I WILL NOT HELP YOU and your thread will get locked.

DO NOT PM ME WITH PROBLEMS. No help will be given.

You'd want the sickness to be a

Potion

. When the player uses the Ibuprofen, check if they have the

Potion

active: if they do, damage or kill them; else heal them and apply the

Potion

Please don't PM me to ask for help. Asking your question in a public thread preserves it for people who are having the same problem in the future.

If using the Ibuprofen is instant, override

Item#onItemRightClick

to apply the damage or potion effect.

If you need to eat it like a potion, override the following methods (look at

ItemFood

and

ItemPotion

to see examples of this):

• Item#getMaxItemUseDuration

to return 32 (the same use duration as food and potions)

• Item#getItemUseAction

to return

EnumAction.drink

(the same action as potions) or

EnumAction.eat

(the same action as food)

• Item#onItemRightClick

to call

EntityPlayer#setItemInUse

with the

ItemStack

argument and the result of calling

this.getMaxItemUseDuration

with the

ItemStack

argument (this makes the player start using the item when they right click)

• Item#onEaten

to apply the damage or potion effect