Is their ever a use for a Server Proxy?

Shadyshackle

So I'm a bit new to this modding thing and after looking as Psi's source code, I had a thought. Psi only uses a common proxy and the subclass client proxy. This is different from most tutorials on the subject where you have both a client proxy subclass and a server proxy subclass. From my understanding, there's two instances where a mod could be run: on a server(which only has server code) and a Combined client(which has both client and server code). Therefore wouldn't you just need a common proxy when the mod is being run a server and a client proxy that simply overrides the common proxy to add things like gui implementation etc?

Where would you ever have code that would be run on the server proxy but not on the combined client, as the combined client has all the code of the server and more?

Hi

You're right, you almost never need the server proxy.  The only time I've ever used it was when I needed to get the path to the save game files.  This is different on the dedicated server than on the combined client.

Some folks don't even like the common proxy.  Their Client-only code goes in the client proxy, the server proxy has nothing in it, and all the common code gets called directly from the mod class preInit(), init() etc.  Personally I think that's a matter of taste, and it really doesn't matter which style you choose.

-TGG

Some folks don't even like the common proxy.  Their Client-only code goes in the client proxy, the server proxy has nothing in it, and all the common code gets called directly from the mod class preInit(), init() etc.  Personally I think that's a matter of taste, and it really doesn't matter which style you choose.